Recent Chat Activity (Main Lobby)
Join Chat

Loading Chat Log...

Prefer not to see ads? Become a Community Supporter.

Click here to go to the first special guest post in this thread.   Thread: Starting Shadowrun RPG

Downloads
    Uploads

Starting Shadowrun RPG

Prefer not to see ads?
    Become a Community Supporter.
    Though I'm fairly new to gaming, I started reading up on Shadowrun, and was wondering about a few things. Now, I do know that there are probably people who've asked before, but my questions would be spread out over 6 different threads, and I just don't have the time. So:

What materials would I need to start a basic Shadowrun game, and where could I find them? (Preferably in book form. PDF's don't agree with me, but I can do them if nothing else)

What do you think of the ease of combat in Shadowrun, as opposed to, say, D&D. (When I played, it was D&D Advanced. I couldn't see any other identifying markings indicating an edition.)

Are there any other games you can recommend? (Preferably no traditional fantasy genres, I've seen to much of this in other avenues of my life.)

Also, any other help you may be willing to give. The people I've played with have only as much gaming experience as me, and there's no one else.

Thank you for all the help!

Jacob
    Last edited by Slazarith; 01-06-2009 at 12:05 AM.

Downloads
    Uploads
    Well i've played shadowrun, decades ago.

If you like orcs in your cyberpunk, then go shadowrun.

If you want it hard edged go with decades old cyberpunk 2020, or Iron Crown Enterprises's cyberspace, or d20 modern with the cyberpsace plug in book.

Shadowrun isn't all that tough to play. Lots of people really like it.

Good luck.,

Downloads
    Uploads
    Quote Originally Posted by Slazarith View Post
    What materials would I need to start a basic Shadowrun game, and where could I find them? (Preferably in book form. PDF's don't agree with me, but I can do them if nothing else)