Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2968

Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958
Which Concentration Check?
Recent Chat Activity (Main Lobby)
Join Chat

Loading Chat Log...

Prefer not to see ads? Become a Community Supporter.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Which Concentration Check?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Centreville
    Age
    58
    Posts
    201
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Which Concentration Check?

    Prefer not to see ads?
    Become a Community Supporter.
    The half-chromium dragon fully-advanced scyllan hits Yamirus with a gargantuan tentacle, inflicting 30 points of damage and successfully grabing the physically-weak wizard. The scyllan, as a free action, transfers the wizard to a claw, which does then does another 26 points of (continuous) damage as it slowly constricts him. Yamirus, on his turn, attempts to cast a greater teleport spell. Under the grapple rules, Yamirus has to succeed on a Concentration check equal to 20 + the spell level, or 27. Under the continuous damage rules, Yamirus has to succeed at a Concentration check equal to 10 + half the continuous damage, or 23. Which Concentration check does he have to make? The higher one? Both?

    A way that might make some sense would be to combine the two, because trying to cast a spell while both grappled and taking continuous damage should prove harder than casting a spell under either one individually. It would make sense to require a Concentration check with a DC = 20 + the spell level + half the continuous damage, or in this case, 40.

    What do you think, and why? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Acme
    Age
    52
    Posts
    2,845
    Blog Entries
    57
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Sorry, but forgive me since I am not that well informed on the 3.x rules as much as 2E. When you say grapple, is this the act of being caught and held onto by something? If so, then would that mean that it would only count on the round that it took place on?

    If the answer of both questions is yes, then I would on the turn of Yarimus' I would go with the 40. This is due to both actions happening on the same turn of the dragon. Now, if he doesn't make that check, on Yarimus' next turn, I would go with just the continuous damage check itself. This is due to he is already being held by the dragon as opposed to the dragon trying to grab hold of (grapple) him.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Allen
    Posts
    18
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SRD
    If more than one type of distraction is present, make a check for each one; any failed Concentration check indicates that the task is not completed.
    According to RAW, the caster should roll against both DCs and needs to succeed on both checks to get the spell through. I'd probably let him get away with just rolling the tougher check, but then, I'm a softie.
    Last edited by dentarthur; 10-17-2008 at 09:42 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Centreville
    Age
    58
    Posts
    201
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cplmac View Post
    Sorry, but forgive me since I am not that well informed on the 3.x rules as much as 2E. When you say grapple, is this the act of being caught and held onto by something? If so, then would that mean that it would only count on the round that it took place on?

    If the answer of both questions is yes, then I would on the turn of Yarimus' I would go with the 40. This is due to both actions happening on the same turn of the dragon. Now, if he doesn't make that check, on Yarimus' next turn, I would go with just the continuous damage check itself. This is due to he is already being held by the dragon as opposed to the dragon trying to grab hold of (grapple) him.
    I'm not sure I'm following all of what you're saying. A grapple is a special attack where you try to grab someone. Certain monsters have an improved grab ability with which they can make a free grapple check against a target they hit with a specified weapon. With the scyllan, it has improved grab with its tentacle attacks. When they scyllan hits with a tentacle it gets to make a free grapple check, and if it wins it has grabbed the target. The scyllan can then transfer the grabbed target and either transfer the target into a claw, or stuff the target in its mouth. Once the scyllan gets the target in its claw, it gets to constrict. If the scyllan puts the target in its mouth, the next round it can swallow the target (with another successful grapple check). If the scyllan puts the target in a claw, the scyllan can keep constricting it round after round unless it breaks free.

    Does that help clarify the situation at all?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Acme
    Age
    52
    Posts
    2,845
    Blog Entries
    57
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Yeah, CB, that is more or less what I was thinking, but wanted to make sure. That being the case, I will definately stand with what I stated above. Hope that helps.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Centreville
    Age
    58
    Posts
    201
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by dentarthur View Post
    According to RAW, the caster should roll against both DCs and needs to succeed on both checks to get the spell through. I'd probably let him get away with just rolling the tougher check, but then, I'm a softie.
    Where is that in the books? Thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dearborn
    Posts
    7,395
    Blog Entries
    16
    Downloads
    9
    Uploads
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by dentarthur View Post
    According to RAW, the caster should roll against both DCs and needs to succeed on both checks to get the spell through. I'd probably let him get away with just rolling the tougher check, but then, I'm a softie.
    Single situation, single roll. I would use the tougher.

    Garry AKA --Phoenix-- Rising above the Flames.
    My favorite game console is a table and chairs.
    The Olde Phoenix Inn

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Centreville
    Age
    58
    Posts
    201
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by CelestialBarbarian View Post
    Where is that in the books? Thanks.
    Oh, I found it on page 70. It's the last sentence before the table of Concentration check DCs. Thanks again!

    I still like the combined DC. At epic levels the casters basically succeed automatically on DC 20 + spell level Concentration checks. Adding in half the constant damage injects some uncertainty and excitement into the Concentration roll, at least for a reasonably tough monster like the chromium half-dragon fuly-advanced scyllan.
    Last edited by CelestialBarbarian; 10-17-2008 at 09:56 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    West Jordan
    Posts
    5,273
    Blog Entries
    41
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0
    scaling difficulties appropriately for the characters is one of the dm's jobs. ^^ in a situation meant to be a challenge, there should always be an element of uncertainty and the risk of failure. carry on.
    nijineko the gm: AG16, CoS. nijineko the player: AtG, RttToH; . The Journal of Tala'elowar Kiyiik! .
    CrystalBallLite: the best dice roller on the planet! . nijineko the archivist: the 3.x archive

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Centreville
    Age
    58
    Posts
    201
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by nijineko View Post
    scaling difficulties appropriately for the characters is one of the dm's jobs. ^^ in a situation meant to be a challenge, there should always be an element of uncertainty and the risk of failure. carry on.
    I agree! That's why I like the combined rule. At low levels the combined rule might be disastrous--although it couldn't be worse than the house rule of the guy on the Wizards website who just told me that he doesn't allow a caster to cast a spell when grappled at all--but at high levels not having a combined rule just takes the challenge out of casting while grappled. Yamirus, at 24th level, has a Concentration bonus of 24+3 = 27 + 2 Con bonus = 29. That means he can automatically make a DC 30 Concentration check, meaning that he can automatically cast even an epic spell while grappled!

Similar Threads

  1. check out my campaign log!
    By nijineko in forum Campaign Resources
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-26-2008, 05:16 PM
  2. [D&D] Check In to a Room and Check Out 4th Edition
    By PnP News Bot in forum News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-18-2007, 06:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •