Recent Chat Activity (Main Lobby)
Join Chat

Loading Chat Log...

Prefer not to see ads? Become a Community Supporter.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Dual-Wielding Shields

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Smyrna
    Posts
    61
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Dual-Wielding Shields

    Prefer not to see ads?
    Become a Community Supporter.
    As far as I know, there are no rules for doing so. Would you get the armor bonus for both, or not?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Sylmar
    Posts
    1,017
    Blog Entries
    44
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    No. Because bonus from the same source do not stack. Gaining the +1 shield bonus would not stack with another shield bonus.(Including from a shield spell).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    West Jordan
    Posts
    5,188
    Blog Entries
    42
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    it is interesting to note that while wizarddog is correct in that the shield bonuses (and enhancement bonuses attached) will not stack with each other, any other enhancements would. so, in other words any extra enhancements that do not affect the ac would apply. you could have a +5 shield with +5 worth of extra enhancements, and another +1 shield (the minimum required) with +9 worth of extra enhancements!

    there are feats that allow one to use a shield as a weapon. there are even some shields with weapons built in. shield-axes and so forth. it is entirely possible to use one shield as a weapon, and one as a shield. if you were to use both as weapons, i do believe the feat (or weapon description) in question stipulates that when used as a weapon, you don't get the shield bonus to ac....

    for an extreme example of the above shield/armor enhancements idea check out the following:

    use padded, leather, or chain shirt armor.
    use the chahar-aina and dastana pieces of armor from oriental adventures which have the special property of stacking with the three armors mentioned above.
    use two shields.

    enchant as follows:
    base armor (say the chain shirt) up to +5, with +5 bonus enhancements.
    either chahar-aina or dastana up to +5 with +5 bonus enhancements. (according to the item rules)
    the other piece to +1, the minimum required, with +9 bonus enhancements. (according to the item rules)
    first shield up to +5, with +5 bonus enhancements.
    other shield at +1 with up to +9 bonus enhancements. depending on the exact weaponization of the second shield, you might also be able to enchant it with a +5 weapon bonus and +5 extra bonuses. i suggest thrown and returning at the very least.

    this will total you at +15/+33 ac bonus/armor enhancements, with a possible +5/+5 weapon. now i imagine that not many pcs will be able to amass the gold necessary to pay for all that, cool as it sounds... but if anyone is having trouble challenging some high level pcs, here's one way to go. oh, and make sure that they can self-immolate, so that they take some of these items with them, allowing you to control how much treasure falls into the pcs hands. =D


    note: these numbers do not include the base ac bonus of the armor or shield pieces themselves.
    Last edited by nijineko; 10-05-2008 at 03:38 PM.
    nijineko the gm: AG16, CoS. nijineko the player: AtG, RttToH; . The Journal of Tala'elowar Kiyiik! .
    CrystalBallLite: the best dice roller on the planet! . nijineko the archivist: the 3.x archive

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Smyrna
    Posts
    61
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    ...that's completely amazing. Also, I already knew about the bonus redundancy rules, but I asked the question because in a realistic situation, using two shields isn't redundant, just like using two weapons, and I was wondering if there might be an armor equivalent to a rend attack. Maybe something like Samus' morph ball...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    West Jordan
    Posts
    5,188
    Blog Entries
    42
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    hmmmm... the only rend attack that comes to mind is a feat, and that's an epic feat to boot. there are class features and maybe a spell or power that grants a rend ability.

    perhaps a grappling specialist with armor spikes? one could always research a custom spell or power that produces this effect, too. note that armor spikes can be enhanced as a weapon. ^^
    nijineko the gm: AG16, CoS. nijineko the player: AtG, RttToH; . The Journal of Tala'elowar Kiyiik! .
    CrystalBallLite: the best dice roller on the planet! . nijineko the archivist: the 3.x archive

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Los Alamitos
    Age
    44
    Posts
    97
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Shields

    Quote Originally Posted by Genzodus Thoth View Post
    As far as I know, there are no rules for doing so. Would you get the armor bonus for both, or not?
    Without looking up the ruling I'm not sure you can use a shield in both hands although I'm not really sure why you couldn't.

    The problem is why would you want too? If you attack with one of the shields you can't use the armor bonus for that shield for that round and you can't stack two "Shield" bonuses for the AC.

    Unless you had some feat that you could take to allow you to attack with a shield and gain the AC for it still, and some how stack the AC from both shields. Again with feats I think this could be interesting.

    Special feat for attacking with shield and keeping the AC, another feat for gaining the AC bonus from both shields, and then another feat to allow you to gain extra AC if your in "Full Defense" with both shields.

    Just because there isn't a book that has a feat published doesn't mean you and your GM can't come up with something so long as you both feel it's balanced for your game. I personally think it's a pretty neat idea.

    JC
    It's better to burn out; then to fade away!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rochester
    Posts
    145
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    If we are talking about straight shield use, what you can do, is attack using shield bash with one shield, and still have the AC bonus for the other shield, since they don't stack without going to extreme lengths. So spiked shields with magic pumped into them, even at low levels you may not get the AC bonus for the second shield but it would still be a shield bashing good time.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    West Jordan
    Posts
    5,188
    Blog Entries
    42
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    it certainly makes for a great visual! although i'm sorta seeing an armored short captain america with two shields in my head. ^^ especially if you can throw them for damage and have them return!
    nijineko the gm: AG16, CoS. nijineko the player: AtG, RttToH; . The Journal of Tala'elowar Kiyiik! .
    CrystalBallLite: the best dice roller on the planet! . nijineko the archivist: the 3.x archive

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rochester
    Posts
    145
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    hahaha that is what i saw you going for with the throwing and returning on the shield. hahaha a dwarven defender made into captain America

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Acme
    Age
    48
    Posts
    2,807
    Blog Entries
    56
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I know about the not being to count both shields at the same time for armor class, but I see no reason why a shield can't be held in each hand. Of course, you can only bash an opponent with a shield, but in a pinch, sometimes you have to improvise with what is immediately available. Sort of like using a club as a weapon, only in this case it is usually made out of metal so there is probably the need to give a little bit of bonus for the difference between a wood club and a metal shield. I know what I would use in the games that I run, but I will refrain from giving an exact amount for the bonus and leave that decission up to each individual DM/GM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    West Jordan
    Posts
    5,188
    Blog Entries
    42
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    there are specialized shield/weapons, typically of dwarven make, and also exotic weapons... but there are options. i suppose one could enchant it with the enhancement that grants proficiency with the weapon if one has the spare gold for it.
    nijineko the gm: AG16, CoS. nijineko the player: AtG, RttToH; . The Journal of Tala'elowar Kiyiik! .
    CrystalBallLite: the best dice roller on the planet! . nijineko the archivist: the 3.x archive

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Rowlett
    Posts
    2,525
    Blog Entries
    7
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    While he didn't actually wield 2 shields, I did play a "Captain America" character in the last major D&D campaign we played. There are a surprising number of feats, spells and other options for making a "shield fighter" a viable character (yes, he could actually throw the shield ).

    I had a little help from my DM who allowed me to use the "Martial Arts" feats from the Revised Star Wars d20 book. They worked quite well and weren't imbalanced.
    HARRY DRESDEN WIZARD
    Lost items found. Paranormal Investigations.
    Consulting. Advice. Reasonable Rates.
    No Love Potions, Endless Purses, or Other Entertainment.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Lynnwood
    Age
    52
    Posts
    134
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    You know, while the rules might make wielding two shields viable and even advantageous, this fails to pass the sniff test for me. It's more about manipulating the rules than making a real character.
    "You know spies gamers, a bunch of *****y little girls." - Sam Axe

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rochester
    Posts
    145
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    making a character that uses two shields can easily pass a 'sniff test' if you are talking about why the character would do such a thing. one which way is perhaps an exalted character who believes deeply in mercy. opting for a defense instead of an offense. rather trying to make a villain repent instead of outright killing them.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Bellevue
    Posts
    2,899
    Blog Entries
    28
    Downloads
    43
    Uploads
    3
    I guess someone is just going to have to strap two shields on, head out to an Amtgard event and then let us know how effective it is. For true measure, a test should be tried with different combinations of shield types and sizes, like a buckler and a heavy round shield.

    Without such empirical evidence that two shields could be effectively used in a combat situation, I'd probably apply a penalty to the shield bonus of -2, say, for being cumbersome. And, of course, I'd still only allow the shield bonus of one of the shields to be counted (with the penalty). I'd probably also apply that penalty to any shield bashes.

    That's my first take on it anyway.
    Robert A. Howard
    Pen & Paper Games
    Follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •