Recent Chat Activity (Main Lobby)
Join Chat

Loading Chat Log...

Prefer not to see ads? Become a Community Supporter.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Post-Apocalypse on the East Coast

Hybrid View

Downloads
    Uploads

Post-Apocalypse on the East Coast

hey i am fairly new to the Post Apocalypse game setting, though i love the genre, my gaming players also like to play "local" games since we know the area, and the game seems more relevent when we have a gun fight at Florida Field (go Gators) then say at LAX. Would Florida have survived an apocalyptic event? whats your take?

Downloads
    Uploads
    Quite a bit depends on what the apocalypse was...

If it was due to a meteor hitting the center of the Pacific, most of the land of Florida would be there, but the tidal wave that hit after the impact has been theorized at pretty much erasing everything else, including all of the vegetation from coast to coast. We don't have high enough land to stop it at any point as it travels across the state.

If it was due to some kind of nuclear war, I'm pretty sure portions of the state would survive because we don't have any active fault lines in the state, so we wouldn't have to worry about such things as volcanoes or massive land destroying earthquakes.

Oh yeah, and while we have the occasional military base and massive population center, they’re pretty isolated, so you’d still have major parts of the state around.

If it was due to some kind of biological plague, well, those kinds of plagues only destroy animal life or plant life, so the land would still be here.

If it was due to some kind of major flood, we’ll we’re kinda back to the meteor strike, except that you wouldn’t have any land above sea if the seas rose too much! You might have the occasional high rise poking through the flood waters, which could make for some really interesting gaming scenarios. Once again, it depends on how much water is added to the seas.