Recent Chat Activity (Main Lobby)
Join Chat

Loading Chat Log...

Prefer not to see ads? Become a Community Supporter.
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Can a first level wizard use a wand of fireballs?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ovid
    Posts
    12
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Can a first level wizard use a wand of fireballs?

    Can you please provide page numbers or links to references? We are arguing over what the "class spell list" is. Is it every spell available to that class, or does that only include the spells that you are able to cast?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prattville
    Age
    52
    Posts
    819
    Blog Entries
    4
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0
    When you use a wand, you are NOT using a "spell" as it were, you are using an arcane device. There are rules about spell failure and such for SCROLLS, but those allow the casting of a spell - and wands aren't spells.

    3.5 DMG, page 213, left side of page, entitled: "Spell Trigger" is a good place to start.

    3.5 DMG, page 245, Right side of page, entitled: "Wands" is a good place to finish.

    According to these two locations, the spells inside are ALMOST completed - all you need to do is trigger it - and ANYONE that casts that style of magic can activate it.

    If a DM was silly enough to hand one out, a first level wizard could use a Wand of Wishes without a problem (except from local thieves!!).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    West Jordan
    Posts
    5,207
    Blog Entries
    42
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0
    class (spell/power) list is defined as all the spells or powers available to a given class, regardless of spells known, or in a spellbook.

    technically speaking, a ranger can use a cure light wounds wand at first level, despite not being able to cast spells until fourth level.
    nijineko the gm: AG16, CoS. nijineko the player: AtG, RttToH; . The Journal of Tala'elowar Kiyiik! .
    CrystalBallLite: the best dice roller on the planet! . nijineko the archivist: the 3.x archive

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prattville
    Age
    52
    Posts
    819
    Blog Entries
    4
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0
    That is a good thing to remember... it is good ancillary info to my answer above. Rangers get "divine" spells - so they can use ANY divine wand whether they can cast ANY spells yet. Thanks for reminding me of that nijineko.

    Oh, and Garret, thanks for making me pull out my 3.5 PHB and DMG - it brought back memories!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    West Jordan
    Posts
    5,207
    Blog Entries
    42
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0
    no problem. actually, i got called out on it by my dm. and we even roleplayed it out in game. my character had never used one before, so i turned my player forgetfulness and confusion into a rp moment where the ranger was taught by the cleric how to use wands (that were also on the ranger list). ^^
    nijineko the gm: AG16, CoS. nijineko the player: AtG, RttToH; . The Journal of Tala'elowar Kiyiik! .
    CrystalBallLite: the best dice roller on the planet! . nijineko the archivist: the 3.x archive

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prattville
    Age
    52
    Posts
    819
    Blog Entries
    4
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0
    And here's 500 xp for inventive role playing!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Aurora
    Posts
    1,127
    Blog Entries
    2
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    This brings to mind Mickey and his experience in Fantasia. Try that in your game.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ovid
    Posts
    12
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Hey Everyone,
    Thanks for all of your input, it helped out greatly. It was a little debate between the players and our DM but is now solved. Thanks again.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    West Jordan
    Posts
    5,207
    Blog Entries
    42
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0
    happy to oblige. =D
    nijineko the gm: AG16, CoS. nijineko the player: AtG, RttToH; . The Journal of Tala'elowar Kiyiik! .
    CrystalBallLite: the best dice roller on the planet! . nijineko the archivist: the 3.x archive

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Wayne
    Posts
    6
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    They can, but I think unless you know the spell itself, it would be a dc 24 use magic device check. If you fail the check the first time you try it, you are also not allowed to try again until you gain ranks in UMD, or have an increased int stat.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    West Jordan
    Posts
    5,207
    Blog Entries
    42
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0
    don't think so. can you provide the page number you are pulling that from?
    nijineko the gm: AG16, CoS. nijineko the player: AtG, RttToH; . The Journal of Tala'elowar Kiyiik! .
    CrystalBallLite: the best dice roller on the planet! . nijineko the archivist: the 3.x archive

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Hudson
    Age
    45
    Posts
    566
    Blog Entries
    10
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    I always don't follow every single rule but to me id I DMed a wand yes staffs and rods I'd figure somewhere between 3-5th but thats me.
    "Hey wich one of you punks stole Dr.Rockso's banana?"

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Wayne
    Posts
    6
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    http://www.dandwiki.com/wiki/SRD:Wands

    http://www.dandwiki.com/wiki/SRD:Mag...ell_Completion

    If you read the rules in the SRD here, you will see the prerequisite is normally a member of the class that can cast the spell. If you do not have a level high enough to cast the spell normally, you can make the appropriate check. If you pass, the spell activates normally, and if you fail you make a mistake and can not try again until you are better prepared (same as rules with copying spells into your spellbook).

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    West Jordan
    Posts
    5,207
    Blog Entries
    42
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0
    it appears that you are either confusing two completely separate sections of rules, or miss-clicked/quoted.

    first off, wands are spell trigger items, which it correctly states in the srd-wands link you provided. see the SRD i prefer to use here:

    http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems/wands.htm
    ,

    and here:

    http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems/magicItemBasics.htm#spellTrigger


    ...the rules you cited for spell completion do not apply.

    now if we had been talking scrolls and/or other spell completion items....
    nijineko the gm: AG16, CoS. nijineko the player: AtG, RttToH; . The Journal of Tala'elowar Kiyiik! .
    CrystalBallLite: the best dice roller on the planet! . nijineko the archivist: the 3.x archive

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •