Recent Chat Activity (Main Lobby)
Join Chat

Loading Chat Log...

Prefer not to see ads? Become a Community Supporter.
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Rules clarification regarding prestige classes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Question Rules clarification regarding prestige classes

    Prefer not to see ads?
    Become a Community Supporter.
    Hi all

    I'm back playing D&D after 10 years break and a lot has happened! Currently my GM wants to play 3.5 and I find it pretty cool so I accept. But I need some rules clarification you guys might be able to help me with:

    I consider playing a monk prestige class (Dragon Shen, found in Dragon Magazine 319). Question is - is a prestige class still considered a monk?
    If I build a prestige class will he still have the basic skills of a monk (flurry blows and so on) or not?

    If not, would I then be able to make him level 1 monk, x levels prestige class and THEN get the flurry blows?

    Would the flurry blows then only count as a level 1 monk or the tota lsum of levels?

    Many questions and hoping for enlightment on the subject. I am not into it for power gaming but I just need to be clear of the rules.

    Best regards
    The Smith, Denmark

    P.S. sorry for noob questions
    Last edited by thesmith; 08-23-2010 at 05:26 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Fremont
    Posts
    30
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I'm pretty certain monk abilities do not grow with your prestige class. Furthermore, though, prestige classes have requirements: getting up the power you need to access it may take enough time that your flurry will be formidable enough.

    Some monk prestige classes, though, specifically state giving "monk abilities." For these classes, your flurry will increase.
    Shameless plug?
    robodda.bandcamp.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Brook Park
    Posts
    26
    Blog Entries
    17
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    For the Shen Dragon Prestige class, the monk class feature of Fury of Blows does NOT stack with the prestige class levels. If your a 5th level monk and take a level in the dragon shen class, your Fury of blows does not change. Note that your Ac bonus and Unarmed damage do stack.



Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-19-2010, 10:41 AM
  2. Consolidated Lists from WotC: Classes, Prestige Classes, Feats and Monsters!
    By PnP News Bot in forum 3.x Edition & Pathfinder
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 11-30-2008, 10:46 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-26-2008, 11:21 PM
  4. Danged elemental clerics prestige classes...
    By GC13 in forum Dungeons & Dragons
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-21-2007, 08:51 PM
  5. Unbalanced Prestige Classes
    By Kilrex in forum Dungeons & Dragons
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-09-2007, 09:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •