Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958

Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958
Deflecting for Allies?
Recent Chat Activity (Main Lobby)
Join Chat

Loading Chat Log...

Prefer not to see ads? Become a Community Supporter.
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Deflecting for Allies?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Joliet
    Posts
    52
    Blog Entries
    2
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Deflecting for Allies?

    Prefer not to see ads?
    Become a Community Supporter.
    How would you rule this situation:

    O = Square
    J = Jedi
    E = Enemy
    A = Ally

    OEO
    OOO
    OOO
    OJO
    OAO

    E shoots at A

    Can the Jedi Deflect that shot?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Brighton
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,362
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Yes but the Jedi must spend a Force Point in order to do so. It is under the Deflect talent. As long as the ally is adjacent to a Jedi with Deflect and the Jedi has FPs to spend.

    I think the ally might have cover as well, not sure on that.
    "I'm afraid it is you who are mistaken. About a great, many things."

    "It is not the rules that make or break a game, it's the GM and the players."


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Joliet
    Posts
    52
    Blog Entries
    2
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I couldn't find that in the core book. Is it in the errata?

    EDIT: Yup, there it is

    p. 41 Deflect Talent
    Before the last sentence of the first paragraph, add the following
    sentence: "You may spend a Force Point to use this talent to negate
    an attack against an adjacent character."
    Replace the second paragraph with the following:
    "You can use this talent to deflect some of the barrage of shots fired
    from a ranged weapon set on autofire, or the Force lightning Force
    power. If you succeed on the Use the Force check, you take half
    damage if the attack hits and no damage if the attack misses.
    Last edited by A Flannel Shirt; 07-21-2010 at 11:35 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Brighton
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,362
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    It is in my core book! For real get the second printing of the core book before they are gone, it includes all errata! SO good!
    "I'm afraid it is you who are mistaken. About a great, many things."

    "It is not the rules that make or break a game, it's the GM and the players."


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Rapid City
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,320
    Blog Entries
    107
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0
    if the cover rules are anything like 4e D&D, than yes, the ally would have cover.
    "I'm not going crazy. I'm going sane in a CRAZY world!"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Reading
    Age
    44
    Posts
    440
    Blog Entries
    6
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I believe in the core book it states that the ally would have cover, but not full cover...granting a +5 bonus to reflex.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Brighton
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,362
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Yep! Very first line of the cover section; "Creatures and terrain features can provide cover against attacks."
    "I'm afraid it is you who are mistaken. About a great, many things."

    "It is not the rules that make or break a game, it's the GM and the players."


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sudbury
    Posts
    8
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Ya you would be considered Soft cover, Hey if you take Harms way then you can cover your ally without spending a force point!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •