Recent Chat Activity (Main Lobby)
Join Chat

Loading Chat Log...

Prefer not to see ads? Become a Community Supporter.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with Shadowrun

Downloads
    Uploads

Help with Shadowrun

Prefer not to see ads?
    Become a Community Supporter.
    Let me just start by saying I'm new to this whole RPG scene. I just bought Shadowrun 4th edition awhile ago and the rules are absurdly complicated. I'm used to playing D+D and using d20s, and using d6s isn't all that difficult. But there are so many checks and dice rolls in this game! I tried to read about how to throw a grenade and I got a headache from the sheer complexity of it all. I really like the setting and some of the mechanics are pretty neat, but is there another way I can play this game without the needlessly intricate rules?
    Last edited by RPG n00b; 01-04-2010 at 02:07 AM.

Downloads
    Uploads
    Sadly, the needlessly complicated rules are what, for me, make shadowrun an enjoyable game. I find D&D too simplistic,and because of that it's lacking in many ways. Shadowrun is clunky but you end up with a realistic combat that is a lot of fun. I have more experience with earlier editions, which were even more complicated. So someone else might be able to help you out more on the rules side. But you can cut down on a lot of the complication just by not requiring rolls so often. In Shadowrun you are playing professionals, you can assume that they can accomplish most tasks they are hired to do.

Downloads
    Uploads
    Do you know how grenades are supposed to work?

Blog Entries
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Are you using the 20th Anniversary edition (SR4a) or the older 4th (SR4)? SR4a has had a lot of rewriting and clarification, especially in the Hacker area but also in other parts of the book.

In reviewing Grenades (sr4a.155), it seems pretty clear.