Recent Chat Activity (Main Lobby)
Join Chat

Loading Chat Log...

Prefer not to see ads? Become a Community Supporter.
View RSS Feed

LegacyKing

GMing and meeting your players' needs

Rate this Entry
This is my first post to the Blogosphere, I figured I'd give this a go. This is just a meager blog, but I hope you get something from it.

I've been gaming for 20+ years now, and a good portion of that as a GM. Both as a young child (11 years old) to present day.

Well, I've noticed a trending difference in how I approach GMing from those older days to today. I've always been trying to GM from the perspective of "This would be cool and fun" and "What can I use to challenge the characters" back when most campaigns had a small plot and a lot of fighting or were designed for lots of fighting. But it shouldn't be focused on what I think is fun, but what will be entertaining to the players. There is a slight difference - What is fun to me, might be boring to the players. So my approach is "Will this be Fun or Entertaining to the players".

We all know the Player Stereotypes, and chances are, you've encountered a few of them. The Goal of GMing should be to cater to each of their playstyles, while bringing yourself to the table to offer a complete package.

How does one GM cater to everyone's needs? Especially when you have a mixed group with diverse interests? It requires communication -
  • Take note of when your players get particularly involved, what seems to be the drive when they get involved. (Do they seem to be interested in being active when there is a negotiation? Are they more interested in acquiring wealth? Are they seeking power through lands? Do they seem to want to outfit themselves with the most powerful items?)