PDA

View Full Version : What's your job?

GoddessGood
04-14-2009, 04:31 PM
A friend of mine posits that most gamers are in the tech industry. I'd like to know, what's your job?

Me, I'm an engineer so she's got me pegged. My boyfriend is a linux/unix system administrator, so he follows that pattern, too.

yukonhorror
04-14-2009, 04:49 PM
Chemical engineer.

Normally I wouldn't say that is "tech", but I do molecular modeling on a computer all day, so yeah, tech.

Sascha
04-14-2009, 05:48 PM
Previous employment includes telephone tech support, and working database-side inventory for a uniform distribution warehouse.

Current position is student (physical anthropology, going to focus on osteology and forensics). Not sure if that's sufficiently techy, but it is sciencey.

Talmek
04-14-2009, 05:49 PM
I'm a unit operator for a global oil company. If you consider turning a wrench and troubleshooting unit problems to prevent environmental incidents "technical" then I'm it.

However I was in Special Operations for eight years (and also during my initial love affair with D&D) and I was nowhere near technical in my profession.

Overall, no...I'm not in a technical field.

yukonhorror
04-14-2009, 05:56 PM
addendum.

When I got into gaming (and played it addictively), I was a HS student and new nill about computers and techie stuff. Which is ironic considering that is all I do now, yet I still no nill about computers and techie stuff.

kirksmithicus
04-14-2009, 06:05 PM
Previous employment includes telephone tech support, and working database-side inventory for a uniform distribution warehouse.

Current position is student (physical anthropology, going to focus on osteology and forensics). Not sure if that's sufficiently techy, but it is sciencey.

In a similar type of profession. We use lots of tech. but I would not call it part of the tech industry.