PDA

View Full Version : GURPS Players in Northern VA

cmac
03-17-2009, 04:42 PM
Hello All,

I am pretty new to GURPS. I own and have read both basic books for GURPS 4e and really want to play it. Unfortunately, it seems there isn't many GURPS players in my area or I haven't found them yet.

I have been playing a Rolemaster FRP game but tbh I'm getting sick of all the damn charts.

So any GURPS players in the NOVA area?

Thanks

cliff
03-18-2009, 07:49 PM
I have been playing a Rolemaster FRP game but tbh I'm getting sick of all the damn charts.

So any GURPS players in the NOVA area?

Not I, but I just had to comment. Rolemaster has to be the only system where the switch to GURPS can be made because you're looking for a system that's more rules-light. :lol:

fmitchell
03-19-2009, 03:37 AM
Rolemaster has to be the only system where the switch to GURPS can be made because you're looking for a system that's more rules-light. :lol:

GURPS character creation can get really complex. At the table, though, it's about as complex than D&D 3.x, sometimes less if you don't use all the combat rules.

cmac
03-19-2009, 09:34 AM
The biggest difficulty with GURPS is character Generation. Soooo many options. You really have to know what you want (concept) before you even think about cracking the books. No character classes is kind of nice.

RM is a pretty easy game. Just all the damn charts for combat..it gets frustrating. I also believe that GURPS isn't more complicated than anyother game out there.

cliff
03-19-2009, 02:18 PM
heh. Fair enough... I'm a huge GURPS fan, myself, but the general gaming line has largely been that it's just too complex. I personally enjoy crunchy bits, but Rolemaster is just a bit too tedious.

cmac
03-19-2009, 05:23 PM
I think what really scares people is just Character Generation. You have to be a bit creative and actually think.