PDA

View Full Version : Talislanta

mathogre
11-09-2006, 09:23 PM
Greetings! Does anyone here play Talislanta? I just discovered it a couple of days ago, and it looks very cool and interesting. At present I'm just starting to learn about the game, but want to begin playing it as soon as possible.

http://www.talislanta.com/

What drew me to the game was this quote from the d20 Edition of the Talislanta book:

Many different roleplaying games go to great lengths to ensure a proper balance is maintained between characters of different types. Talislanta has never been one of those games.

The sheer number of playable races makes balancing them all impossible. Talislanta has always been about the setting and as such, matters of balance are largely ignored. The focus of Talislanta has been, and should be, about roleplaying. This means that certain character types might be less powerful in game terms, however this should have no bearing on the fun a player will have playing a lesser powered character. An Aeriad Botanomancer can be just as much fun to roleplay as a mighty Thrall or Kang warrior.

I'm hooked, and it's nearly time to roll some dice. ^_^

Grimwell
11-10-2006, 08:54 AM
I remember the early days of Taslanta where their ads in Dragon would say "NO ELVES!" as a hook. That never worked. Cool that you've found this site, I'm going to have to check it out.

mathogre
11-10-2006, 09:00 AM
Ha ha! There are still no elves (and their books state so on the back covers).

Malruhn
10-14-2007, 05:06 PM
I've played it for years - and I've modded most of the stuff over to D&D to keep players on their toes.

I recently found a way to introduce Thralls to my world - and now I can't wait for someone to play one!

pawsplay
10-25-2007, 09:06 AM
A classic. I have the fourth edition, and I recently acquired a copy of 2nd edition, perhaps my favorite.

gdmcbride
11-15-2007, 01:25 AM