PDA

View Full Version : Online OpenRPG Traveller (Alternity?) Homebrew Proposal

Etarnon
11-27-2008, 05:33 AM
Hi, I'm a veteran traveller referee, moving into a new home, so things are disrupted.

This is not a solid offer to run a game, it is a "Here's the proposal, let's see who shows up, AND can we commit and bring it all together, over the next month and a half."

So I want to be clear, I'm offering the following info on that tentative basis.

I'd be willing to run a Traveller (Rules, not setting, see later details) game via openRPG, if we could find say two more players. Said game to start oh, mid january, or so. Nights to be determined. 4 to 5 hours sessions average.

Needed: Players. A new website, and I'd have to gen up some new maps, we'd need characters. I plan to release a list of pre-done pre-gens.

My Experience:
I've been a traveller referee since 1977, when i started gaming. Extensive campaigns using Classic Imperium, 2300 AD, and TNE post-virus,

My Books:
I have a total of 7 crates of Classic, Mega, TNE, T4, 2300AD, and Mongoose. I prefer classic with some megaT skills system thrown in. Mongoose is a good second option since it is in print.

Proposed setting would be my own home campaign, not set in the traveller universe, but my own Orion Arm 5440 universe.

Failing that, Alternity is another good system to use, same setting would take a bit longer to set up. I've been wanting to port this whole deal to the Alternity system for some time anyway... but i digress.

My style notes:
"Narrative", backed up by "Simulationist" style a la GNS.
I like Simple Game systems with depth, (Like Classic Traveller)
I'm not a fan of powergaming, or munchkinism.
I'd ask for as detailed a character history as a player can give me, or failing that, I'll give him / her one. No time-travelling weirdness, or multiple personalities, or other off the wall stuff like that.