PDA

View Full Version : What's the youngest age you've seen play D&D?

ChaunceyK
11-21-2008, 03:42 PM
I believe I was 14 or 15 when I started playing with my best friend & his brother, which would put his brother at 12 or 13 at the time. He played it reasonably well.

Biggest reason I ask (aside from curiosity) is because my daughter wants to play. She'll be 12 in January. While I don't think she can handle 4e (nor would I expect my group to let her in at her age), she does like the idea of magic & monsters & the different fantasy races & classes. I'm going to start dm'ing her with the old solo adventures Lathan's Gold & Ghost of Lion Castle. I think the older, simpler rules will be better suited for her.

Also, does anyone know of a "junior edition" rpg that's got simple rules for younger kids like my daughter?

Webhead
11-21-2008, 04:19 PM
I was running frequent D&D and Star Wars adventures for my brother and his friends starting when he was about 7 years old. Most of the other kids that were from 7 to 12 at the time. They did surprisingly well and we had lots of fun, though the games were probably much less "focused" around a longer story than just having exciting adventures.

Regarding games that might be good for younger players, here's a list of my suggestions, some I've played, others I've just heard about:

1. The Zantabulous Zorcerer of Zo: A game by Atomic Sock Monkey Press that is about fairy tales (think Grimm's fairy tales and "Mother Goose" type stories). The players are characters in a magical land full of strange and goofy characters and have zany adventures.

2. Faery's Tale: I've heard that this is an excellent game for younger gamers. The players play faery creatures who live in a magical forest and who foil dark faery plots, rescue youngsters from giants, overthrow sorcerous tyrants, awaken princesses from their enchanted slumber, watch over faery godchildren, and have many other amazing adventures, happily ever after.