PDA

View Full Version : Darwin's World?

scatterbrain85
10-08-2008, 10:20 PM
Hi! I'm new to pnp gaming. Do very many people play Darwin's World? I'm a huge Fallout 1/2 fan and DW looks really interesting. Does anyone have any opinions on it or recommendations of other post apocalyptic games? I think I will need a game that is well supported with adventures and whatnot because I'm going to be playing with other inexperienced players.

Arch Lich Thoth-Amon
10-08-2008, 10:45 PM
Hi! I'm new to pnp gaming. Do very many people play Darwin's World? I'm a huge Fallout 1/2 fan and DW looks really interesting. Does anyone have any opinions on it or recommendations of other post apocalyptic games? I think I will need a game that is well supported with adventures and whatnot because I'm going to be playing with other inexperienced players.
Hello and welcome to the boards.

I love Gamma World, but i'm old-school with this. If you and a bunch of friends are looking to break into the rpg gaming world for enjoyment, then I'd say go for it, Darwins World will be a great experience for all of you.

There are alot of other post-apocalyptic gaming fans on this site, so dont be surprised if you get alot of recommendations in the next few days.

Game on!

:spider:

Webhead
10-08-2008, 10:50 PM
Well, I don't know anyone who plays it, but that doesn't mean it doesn't have an audience.

There are several good postapocalyptic RPGs out there, unfortunately almost all of them are out of print and can usually only be found at used bookstores or on eBay.

Some good ones are:

Gamma World (the *original* postapocalyptic fantasy RPG...1st, 2nd or 4th edition are considered the best by fans, but they are long since out of print)

Deadlands: Hell on Earth (a great game setting but with a funky rules system, also out of print but generally easier and cheaper to find than Gamma World)