PDA

View Full Version : Sell me on Warhammer Fantasy RPG

Webhead
10-07-2008, 01:23 PM
Okay, I hear people with good things to say about WFRP. As an alternative fantasy RPG to D&D, make me believe! What makes WFRP so much fun and what distinguishes it from D&D? Why would it be a good (or bad) choice for someone who wants an RPG with a little less prep time, a little more free-form character customization and quicker-running combats than D&D? What does WFRP do well and what does it not do well?

Arch Lich Thoth-Amon
10-07-2008, 01:32 PM
Got a couple of hours?

Seriously, i'll let someone else respond for my response may turn into a novella. My only suggestion is to pick up or borrow a core book and check it out.

I've been playing DnD for over 30 years and have great memories of said game. This being said, WFRP will always be my #1 choice for fantasy rpg.

Yes, i still play DnD regularly, but truth be told, DnD players i've talked into playing WFRP, have always wanted to stick with WFRP from then on.

Webhead
10-07-2008, 01:42 PM
How do the majority of the rules systems work? Is it more or less complicated than D&D 3.5? How is magic handled differently? I ask because, honestly, I won't really have an opportunity to browse a copy of the book itself.

Let's start there.

MuslixtheMighty
10-07-2008, 02:06 PM
WFRP is a percentile dice game. About 95% of all the dice rolling for both players and GM will be D100 with the every once in a while D10 roll. In the Warhammer universe, magic and spells are a double edged sword. To be able to wield such great power, you run the risk of having a spell blow up in your face or attract the attention of a darker being.

One of my favorite points of WFRP is the high level of mortality. Lets say a Human outlaw is fighting a orc. The fight might be going on the Outlaw's favor but then the orc rolls a crit and instantly, the Outlaw just lost his leg and the fight.

MortonStromgal
10-07-2008, 03:16 PM