PDA

View Full Version : Monks: Help me!

zergrusheddie
08-23-2008, 04:57 AM
Howdy folks. I have always loved Monks. The fact they get some real whacko powers and the concept of always having your weapons at the ready has intrigued me ever since I started playing.

Finally, my father is going to DM and I have no need to be the Wizard/Rogue/Tank/Cleric so I'm going to now play the character I am most fond of, a Monk. Sadly, I know Jack and his well-known brother about making a Monk that is effective. When our group plays DnD, we use it as an excuse to play out Tactical-based Warfare {we use the D20 system because it offers the most customization}, so I don't want to play a Monk that uses a Barbed Chain or anything; I want to be effective, fun, and still revolve around using Unarmed Strikes.

So, what kind of feats/skills should a Monk have? I know that taking any Armor/Weapon proficiency would be, in an effect, peeing on my own feet but I'm pretty much clueless otherwise. So, to all you Masterminds out there, any suggestions to a Monk Fanboy?

Best of luck to all of you and your families.
-Eddie

dentarthur
08-23-2008, 11:23 AM
I haven't played a Monk but have given it some thought. One thing to consider is how the Monk makes use of his stats. As a fighter, for example, it's a no-brainer to put that 18 in Str; but it's not so clear cut when you're running a fist jockey.

Wis applies to your AC. Con helps some of your class features, as well as your relatively scarce hit points. If you focus on Str over Dex, you can do more damage, but your AC will suffer. If you favor Dex instead then you can pour skill points into Tumble and flit around the battlefield dodging blows, but you'll do less damage and have to take Weapon Finesse to have a decent attack bonus.