PDA

View Full Version : Late to the party.

Law Dog
08-03-2008, 12:22 PM
I've got to say that I'm just getting into the nWoD. I've been playing RPGs for over 30 years, pretty much every genre, most of the major systems inluding oWoD. Now maybe it was the way that my group played Vampire as a sort of shitty "Dubbed into English from Romanian ripoff of Innocent Blood". I developed a distaste for it. I can remember one stupid game that went nowhere with two Vampires, a Mummy, a Ghost and a Mulderesque Government agent human that turned into a game of who could screw with everybody else.

The current GM in our group wanted to run Mage, so I picked up the Core Book, Mage and Innocents.

Wow. I didn't know what I was missing. I just assumed that it was the same old stuff. Now I've picked up Promethian (and all the supplement books) and Changeling and some of the other stuff like Dogs of War and the Armory. I am highly impressed.

I haven't picked up Vampire or Werewolf (yet), but I'm happy with what I've been reading. All that money I'm saving by not buying D&D 4 is going to good use.:)

Arch Lich Thoth-Amon
08-04-2008, 10:52 AM
I've been meaning to pick it up. I would welcome any thoughts and experiences you might share during your ongoing campaign.

Thoth-Amon

MortonStromgal
08-05-2008, 02:55 PM
World of Darkness requires the right group. Until I went away to college I never played VtM despite my love of all things Vampire, because the VtM players I knew were creepy.

I think of the lines Mortals is by far the best. The big three are all missing the metaplot which makes me sad and the rules seam a bit more complicated for supernatural bits than the old (far simpler for mortals though)

Talmek
08-08-2008, 01:37 AM
I liked VtR personally. Granted, I STILL haven't had an opportunity to play it. Overall, I'd really look forward to playing it someday.

placebosonly
10-18-2008, 02:39 PM