PDA

View Full Version : Point buys-PCs and Adventures

Omegaman
04-08-2008, 08:06 PM
How do you decide what level is good for PCs? I like realistic adventures in most ways as far as mechanics go, but I do like the PCs to be able to accomplish things that the ordinary man could not. I always assumed 100 pts would be a standard starting character, but after reading the book it seems that they suggest people mostly like to start at 250pts, which seems really high to me. I have never done this before and so would like some thoughts on it.

Also, how do you design adventures for this system? In D&D it's all CR based. What is a good challenge for the PCs in this game. Is a character of equal points considered a huge challenge to defeat? What if defeat is not based on combat, but on social interaction? Is it still too/not enough powerful?

I am going to run a D&D adventure saga, but will convert all the crunch to GURPS and so I need to know some ideas on how to do that without creating encounters WAAAY too difficult or ridiculously easy.

Any ideas, thoughts, recriminations?

fmitchell
04-08-2008, 09:23 PM
I haven't GM-ed GURPS in a while, but last time I checked a 100pt character is a very competent normal, while a 250pt character is in pulp hero range. So it depends what kind of campaign you're going to run.