PDA

View Full Version : Why do you like not having to use a Thaco roll?

cplmac
02-16-2008, 09:06 PM
Several of you have told me that with 3.5 not having to deal with the Thaco roll, that it makes the game better. How do you know if you have hit your intended target? What did you like the least about dealing with Thaco's? Finally, when 4e comes out, is there something you would like to see change from 3.5 or is it fine just the way it is (by not having to deal with a Thaco)? In your answers, please keep in mind that my background is with 2e, Thanks.

tesral
02-16-2008, 09:13 PM
Positive armor class. All armor classes in 3.x are postive numbers. Equal or exceed the AC you hit.

Maelstrom
02-16-2008, 09:28 PM
2e THaco required a couple extra caluclations with how you'd have to subtract the opponent AC. The more modifiers to attack rolls you had, the odder the caluclations became.

3.5e attack rolls require none of that... there is one target number to hit, the opponent's AC. You roll your d20 and add your +attack to see if you hit that target number. Easy to stack multiple modifiers.

4e is taking it a step further by having all attacks, magical and otherwise, having a single attack roll against a target number (saving throws by the target are reduced in number and complexity). Of all the 4e changes I've heard about so far, this is one of my favorite.

cplmac
02-16-2008, 09:34 PM
Positive armor class. All armor classes in 3.x are postive numbers. Eqaul or exceed the AC you hit.

I never thought that the negative numbers were that difficult. Guess it just depends on how much of a math background you have.

tesral
02-16-2008, 10:20 PM
I never thought that the negative numbers were that difficult. Guess it just depends on how much of a math background you have.