PDA

View Full Version : Known and Lost Worlds

Engineer Doramos
01-31-2008, 08:43 AM
I'm dying to DM something again, so since people havent show much interest in Fading Suns, I thought I'd try somewhat more familiar grounds. I'm by the South El stop on the Purple Line. I'm also more than happy to join an existing group if they feel like giving an old school dm with 26 or so years experience a chance.

I have a fantasy setting I have been working on since 1990 or so, its current name is Morterth. I decided to adapt it again to d20 rules, and came up with homebrew rules that I think are really cool. It is designed to be low magic in the sense that magic creatures and items do not abound. Spellcasters will be more common, but they tend to be secretive about their natures. The world is a cross between late middle ages and early renaissance europe with some other cultural influences thrown in. Gunpowder is a secret more carefully guarded than magic, so players will not have access to it, though they might come across a musket or something later on. Alignments have been replaced with Tendencies. You begin with no Tendencies, but with the appropriate actions, the DM will give up to five points in a direction on the old alignment compass: good, evil, law, chaos, and you can even gain points in balance. These tendencies affect alignment-related spells as well as divine spellcasting, npc reactions, and more. You can also gain Fame or Infame points, which go to a bonus of five as well, and these influence social skills. I also radically changed the magic system, in order to keep the mood of the setting intact. The only classes that remain from the PHB are Barbarian, Fighter, and Rogue. Wizard, Sorcerer, and even classes like Ranger and Monk are replaced by four base magic classes with several sub classes to them (Mage, Faithful, Trickster, and Holy Warrior). Each sub class has its own spell list, so a Mage Elementalist would learn elemental-related spells, like fireball and