PDA

View Full Version : Hiyo

Aedan
12-24-2007, 09:55 PM
Hi everybody, it's Christmas Eve and I'm enjoying the Chargers vs. Broncos game, but I figured I'd introduce myself real quick. My name is Sean, and I'm a student at the Univ. of Florida. Speaking of which, you all should check out the Gators whoop Michigan's butt on New Years! Anyway, I'm kind of apprehensive about meeting strangers for a game of D&D, but I figure I'll give it a try, since I had a lot of fun playing it with my friends in VA. So Merry Christmas to everybody, and let me know if you're looking for a game in Gainesville! :)

rabkala
12-24-2007, 10:51 PM
A little uneasiness and concern are normal when meeting people for the first time. I myself felt a bit of dread and trepidation the first few times I met new players or groups.

The online scene is not much different than finding people in an advertisement or a bulletin board at your local shop. I have done it hundreds of times due to moving, running open games at a shop, and always trying to have a few games active. While I have met a few whom were a bit different or didn't mesh well, no psycho killers or freaks have ever applied. I like to think the gaming community a bit above the norm of our society.

Relax, you'll find some like minded gamers as long as you don't give up the fight before it's started. "We shall fight on the beaches, we shall fight on the landing grounds, we shall fight in the fields and in the streets, we shall fight in the hills; we shall never surrender." Churchill

Merry Christmas to you as well! Happy holidays and a joyous Yuletide.

Mulsiphix
12-25-2007, 01:44 AM
As a budding DM I'm afraid I'll be scared stupid the first time I host a game for a group of strangers. I do look forward to the social atmosphere though. It has been quite a while since I played a pen and paper game in a group but the memories I have are priceless. I wish you the best of luck in making new memories with new players.

Aedan
12-25-2007, 10:49 AM