PDA

View Full Version : D&D Ask Wizards: 11/12/2007 (Disintegrate vs. Undead)



PnP News Bot
11-12-2007, 12:37 AM
http://www.wizards.com/books/images/dnd_logo_small.jpg

Check out this new article Wizards of the Coast posted recently:

Ask Wizards: 11/12/2007 (http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/4ask/20071112a)


Q: How does the disintegrate spell affect undead?

Moritz
11-12-2007, 07:56 AM
Poof, they're gone.

I've always liked and disliked the disintegrate spell. Back in version 1 it was pretty cool, from my recollection. It would just work if you rolled high enough and on the right table.

Though in the current rules (3.5), it seems so difficult. What's up with that? Is it because the save is too easy to beat?

Riftwalker
11-12-2007, 10:33 AM
Against monsters with low fortitude saves (like liches), Disintegrate is pretty good. If you apply Maximize metamagic to it, and score a critical hit, it does a *lot* of damage.

Farcaster
11-12-2007, 01:09 PM
Maximize would make that a 10th level spell -- ouch! 2d6/level is extremely nasty. The problem is that if the subject makes their saving throw a 20th level caster goes from doing 40d6 to just 5d6, which is just 1/8th the original damage. That's a big gamble, but one that might well be worth it if your target is a little mushy.

Moritz
11-12-2007, 03:56 PM
So, disintegration for stuff with a low fort save. Gotcha.

Guess that's why it's rarely used for standard combat situations. I totally never got into playing a Wizard, too much paperwork.

Riftwalker
11-12-2007, 11:31 PM
One downside IIRC is that the spell also disintegrates any interesting equipment the target is wearing. And FWIW, Demi-liches typically don't wear their magic items.