PDA

View Full Version : Anyone still talking 4E? Why do I still like it.

Otakar
05-11-2016, 02:45 PM
I've been working on my Masters for the last 4 years (slow going I know but with family and job at least I finally got it done) and return to find my favorite version of 4e not even supported on WotC. :(
That's okay. I have enough 4e to last my lifetime but it seems many have moved on to 5e or other systems. Giant in the Playground has a small thread but if anyone wants to talk 4e I'm game.

I guess I still like it because as a DM (I usually DM) I actually get to play! In other versions even aside from the RP I felt that as DM I had to ensure battle wasn't a bore or a TPK. In 4e I don't feel that way. If I design the encounter as described in the DMG I can play the monsters as hard and as smart as I want. 9 out of 10 times the characters will usually win, sometimes barely.

Bottom line, if anyone wants to talk 4e I'm available.

Otakar
05-13-2016, 02:26 PM
Guess no one's talking. I'll check periodically. I guess I can understand, 5E can be just as good in regards to combat. It's a little simpler. It just doesn't have that "Last Action Hero" feeling that 4E has.
4E characters are tough as nails. 1st level characters can take on a young white dragon. It doesn't get much more fun than that!

kirksmithicus
06-07-2016, 12:36 AM
Personally I haven't played in a while and no one I know still plays. I just got burned out on it. Combat takes so long and you need a computer and deems of paper to create a character.

Although I don't think it is an inherently bad system. I was thinking it might not be bad if someone went the E6 route with it, got rid of all the feats and powers, basically just a skeletal framework.

Otakar
06-07-2016, 12:03 PM