PDA

View Full Version : Blurring Lines Between Setting and Campaign

Soft Serve
05-28-2014, 03:54 PM
I've come across a question, maybe not an important or interesting one, but something I've been bothered by lately as I find myself writing down ideas for games.

At what point does a Campaign become a Setting? And is it possible to reverse them? Turning a Setting into a Campaign?

I'm not an expert or anything, and the literal definitions may be different but for the sake of the discussion I'm hoping to start I'll "define" the difference between a Setting and a Campaign as I perceive it, and assume most people agree with or accept this perception.

Settings are worlds. A mapped out and finite place for the characters to wreck their particular brand of havoc upon. It would have established histories, NPCs, gods, economy, towns, cities, villages, political entities, and so on and so forth. Eberron, Forgotten Realms, these are examples of Settings.

Campaigns are one-shot games for characters. They similarly have their own NPCs, gods, towns, and so on, but only in so far as to what is necessary to completing an established goal. Beating a bad guy, filling a prophecy or omen, or so on. Ultimately the difference is a setting does not have an end game, a goal in mind. Where the Setting is a playground, the Campaign is a mission.

Now that this is done and out of the way, I'll move on to the story behind the question.