PDA

View Full Version : Considering Pathfinder...

Craig315
06-01-2013, 07:09 PM
I have been considering switching from 3.5 to Pathfinder. Just wondering how railroady (or not) the adventure paths are. Any input on the differences between PF and 3.5 is also appreciated. Thanks

Dalkiel
06-01-2013, 07:48 PM
Pathfinder is essentially 3.5 with a lot of little, sensible, refinements. There's not too steep of a learning curve. Also, the entire game (core and supplement books, but not adventures) is available online at http://www.d20pfsrd.com/ for searchable reference, and there's a free Kindle app for it too.

Can't speak much on adventure paths. I don't use them, nor did I use modules when I used D&D.

Boonside
06-01-2013, 10:35 PM
I've been playing Pathfinder on and off for a couple years now and I have to say I really like it. Like with all systems it's got it's bumps and squeaks (I'm looking at you grappling), but on the other hand I've never had a problem building a unique a reasonably well balanced character with it.

As for the adventure paths, I was in a Kingmaker campaign for quite a while and found it pretty damn good. Structured, but by no means railroaded. The DM stuck with the provided materials exclusively at first, but over time as we got comfortable with it, it became easier and easier to add and adapt the campaign to how we were playing. The campaign ended before we reached the end of the AP, but I enjoyed it enough that I'll be using it again in the next campaign I DM, by ripping out the core mechanics of the kingdom building and applying them to a new setting.

Craig315
06-01-2013, 11:41 PM
Thanks for the help

nijineko
06-02-2013, 05:44 PM
pathfinder has made some useful changes, and has also broken some stuff that was not broken in the first place. i find it to be six of one, half dozen of another. also, i'm personally ticked by the lack of core psionics support in pathfinder. everything is dsp which is third party. oh well.

Vyrolakos