PDA

View Full Version : New Gaming Group in Stafford

Tanin Wulf
02-04-2013, 05:21 PM
Hello fellow Virginia / DC gamers!

My wife and I just moved to the area and we are looking to start up a gaming group. We play all kinds of games and all kinds of genres. I will be hosting out of our place in Stafford, and I will be Game Mastering.

A Bit About Me: My name is Adam and I've been Gamemastering a weekly game for about the last 11 years, since high school. In that time, I've also written for the Scarred Lands (DnD 3.5) and Exalted, both White Wolf lines.

A Bit About The Game: I tend to run games that are a good mix of roleplaying and combat. Campaigns vary in length. I try to avoid houserules, whenever possible, just so all of my players and I have the same expectations and can avoid having to remember snap decisions I made (it helps to stay consistent).

My games tend to have intricate stories that you, the players help drive forward and take in new directions. I tend not to do sandbox-style games because I am not very good at them. Instead, where I shine is in coming up with great stories with help from my players, where each of them has a role in the story, each of them can drive it in a different way, and everyone has their time in the limelight.

TIME: I would like to hold the game every Saturday, from 5:30 to about 11. However, if a majority of players would like to do earlier in the day on Sunday, or around 6ish on Fridays, we can adjust the game to that time. Traditionally, we've gotten dinner just before the game, or had it delivered during the game.

The First Game: While we will be doing a lot of games, from World of Darkness to Fireborn to Exalted, the first game, and many of the games we will play, will be Dungeons & Dragons, 3.5 and 4th Edition (and probably Next, when it comes out). The first game will be a Scarred Lands (DnD 3.5).

Ignore the Genre, above. It just makes me put that in there. :)