PDA

View Full Version : DnD in the Mancave

Maelich
06-29-2012, 02:33 AM
Greetings everyone.
Summer is upon us and I and a friend are working to set up a new group to play 4e. In the past we have preferred Dark Sun based games, but are open to other settings including homebrew. I am willing to DM the game. I have some experience in this regard, but when I DM the game shifts towards combat and puzzles more than time spent in ale houses and other places of social interaction. About 60/40 or so. If someone else would like to DM that is fine.
The main point is that we finally have time to play again and would like to get a weekly game going at my house. I have a dedicated space for DnD, cold beer, and food is plentiful in my area. I miss playing and I miss camaraderie. I could just as easily join a virtual table game but would prefer seeing people face to face.

Play would be in the evenings most often. Mostly on Friday, Saturday, or Sunday. As Group members begin to join up then we can set down a definite day. I prefer to try to keep to the same day every week because it makes it easier to ensure that people keep the time open and show up. Also, I have a family and it is easier to justify to my wife not doing something on a given day if there is a recurring event.

I don't mind min/maxers or those who try to milk their character for rp potential. Both styles are equally welcome at my table. I like it when players enjoy their characters versus feeling cheated because the DM didn't allow them to use this or that rule source. That said, if I remain DM and noone else wants the job, I would prefer noone delve deeply into the book of vile darkness in building their character unless you talk to me about it. I'd like for everyone's character to have a reason not to smite the others into oblivion. Conflict can be good though.

If you are interesting in the game, even in a casual sense, email me at tamikeucsd atmark gmail.com