View Full Version : A Quick question regarding the purchase of powers after creation...

Gnomish Smith
06-11-2012, 03:03 AM
The group I'm playing with is using the equation for power costs on page 66 of the Core Rulebook "Power cost = (base cost + extras – flaws)× rank + power feats"

There is a little confusion about how this works after creation...

Does this mean that moving from rank 5 to rank 6 of a power that is 2 points per rank (with no extras, drawbacks or feats) would cost 12 points; or would it just cost 2 points, as you are only buying 1 rank?

Any help or outside input is appreciated.

06-11-2012, 04:46 PM
The latter, I believe. In some games, it would cost the whole twelve, but in M&M, i believe that you only buy the one rank.

06-13-2012, 11:37 AM
It only costs 2 points as you are only buying 1 rank. 1 rank costs the amount it says.
There are 3 forms
x Points per rank: every rank you purchase costs this amount.
X points flat: You'll only have to pay this amount of points once to gain the benefits

X points flat per rank: I Seriously have no idea what this could mean, anyone?