PDA

View Full Version : Magical Weapons, Armor, Misc.. economy

GarretJax
06-14-2011, 11:34 AM
Hey all,
I was wondering what the norm is on magical items in the 3.5 edition realm. I know it varies depending on the campaign but I'm just looking for a base to work off of. I've been advised that I may be a little light on giving out magical items. I was told by one of my players that a 5th level toon should have a minimum of two magical items. Also by another that they should be able to walk into a weapon merchants and find magical items to buy. Now.. I'm new to the 3.5 edition and I'm trying to keep an open mind. Guess I'm abit old school and even as a player never really thought that I would be able to walk into a shop and find a magical weapon there.. not saying there isn't a chance just not a good one. Once again, I'm looking for some opinions. Thanks in advance.

Skunkape
06-14-2011, 03:36 PM
The main thing you need to be sure of is what kind of campaign do you want to be running, magic rich/high fantasy or magic poor. There's nothing wrong with either kind and both have their place. The main thing you have to be sure of is how comfortable you are with each type of campaign.

I prefer to run high magic campaigns, but that's just me. I believe the DMG has guidelines for the amount of magic to give out per level, but I could be wrong. If they are in the DMG, that would be the average amount, neither high nor low, so you could adjust it to what you prefer.

rabkala
06-14-2011, 09:54 PM
In every every game, every world, every edition, and every system I've played - they tell me I'm too stingy. So, at least players haven't changed that much.