PDA

View Full Version : Playtesters Wanted

jim pinto
03-14-2011, 12:31 AM
I am a game designer working on board and roleplaying games (alternative, indie-style). Looking for players to game on a regular or not so regular basis. Feel free to contact me if you can't make it to Long Beach, but are able and willing to still playtest.

Thanks

addison
03-14-2011, 01:47 PM
Hi Jim-

Longbeach is a bot further than I was hoping for, but I am interested in your project and how I can help. Let me know.

Eric Addison
ericaddison2001@yahoo.com

yukonhorror
03-14-2011, 02:02 PM
Also interested (especially in the board games), but not exactly in CA? Anyway it could be done online via maptools or vassal?

Freelancer
03-14-2011, 09:02 PM
Sounds interesting. Online is so much easier, though, especially if we're playtesting the game mechanics...?

yukonhorror
03-15-2011, 08:06 AM
For an RPG, playtesting online wouldn't be a big deal. Unless there is some weird physical mechanic involved (like a deck of cards or doing jumping jacks).

For board games, it would be tricky, but not impossible. You'd just have to continually mess with the module. I am no master of Vassal, but I was successful in setting up a game of Dominion in it (crude but worked). As it is a playtest, crude but works is what you need. I'd totally be willing to work with you on doing the board game stuff online. When we get the vassal module to a good place, could do some distribution at bgg.com.

As an independent designer (if legit and not just a hobby for you), I think Farcaster gives special privileges to game designers.

jim pinto
03-16-2011, 03:26 AM
Wow. That was more response than I was expecting and none of it from people near me. I am NOT an online gamer. I don't use Vassal and I don't know what farcaster is.

But I agree, that some RPGs can be done online. Except I'm talking about playtesting some narrative games that require a lot of talking. Do these games have sound? Or just a visual typing roleplaying?