PDA

View Full Version : Starting D&D

EimiArlinee
12-18-2010, 04:46 AM
Hello everyone. I'm Eimi and I'm new to tabletop games and roleplaying. I've read the 3.5 Players Handbook and I think I get the gist of it, but I'm not exactly sure how to start playing.

I mean, this is the first time I've even posted on a website.

I live in a french speaking area, so I can't really find other people to play with in person. I also tend to get sick a lot, so I can't go out with any real frequency.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Utgardloki
12-18-2010, 02:25 PM
My advice would be practice a bit by creating some characters and running them on some simple adventures.

If you can't get a hold of the 3.5 Monster Manual, the Pathfinder rules are close enough that you can pick up the Pathfinder Beastiary and it will be close enough. Soon you'll have the ability to create your own monsters as well, than there have been approximately 799,339,642.5 books published with Third Edition monster stats.

Also try to get a hold of some adventures. If you can't get third edition adventures, Pathfinder adventures will do, as the systems are very similar. (Pathfinder PCs are more powerful than Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 PCs of the same level.) If you can't find Pathfinder adventures, you can adapt any game system by replacing the challenges of that game system by Dungeons and Dragons challenges. You can run your created PCs through these adventures and see how the mechanics work.

It won't take long to learn enough to be able to translate everything you know into French and have it at.

If you have any questions, let us know.

DizzySaxophone
12-18-2010, 04:57 PM