View Full Version : Glyph of Warding and Knock
11-16-2010, 03:48 AM
When a chest is protected by a Glyph of Warding or a Greater Glyph of Warding and a knock spell is used to open it does the glyph go off? If the spell associated with the Greater Glyph is Slay Living does that mean the caster of Knock is affected by the Glyph?
11-16-2010, 10:50 AM
Does the glyph go off? Yes.
Slay living? No.
Glyph of Warding will only affect someone in its area of effect. Use of Knock will subvert this - unless, for example, you trap an object with a Fireball and the Knock caster happens to be standing in the area designated as the target for the Fireball.
11-20-2010, 08:30 PM
Q:When a chest is protected by a Glyph of Warding or a Greater Glyph of Warding and a knock spell is used to open it does the glyph go off?
This will depend a bit on the Glyph's conditions. The default 'opening the warded object' would set the Glyph off when knock is used.
Q:If the spell associated with the Greater Glyph is Slay Living does that mean the caster of Knock is affected by the Glyph?
Maybe. If you simply stand in front of a chest with a glyph on in and cast knock, you are 'opening the warded object' and 'intruding'. There is no reason you could not say the spell effect, like slay living, can't just hit the caster that is only one foot in front of the chest.
Note that no where in the Glyph of Warding spell description does it say you have to Touch the object with the glyph to set the glyph off and be effected by it.
So you can have 'evil, strange and powerful' magic where the Glyph 'knows' where the caster of the knock is and can 'follow the magic trail and still zap them'.
You can go with the 100% safe game where nothing happens as the knock fools the Glyph.
11-27-2010, 10:52 PM
glyphs typically have limited senses, per rules. however, playing with variants can really get your players going, which can be quite fun in its own regard. ^^
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.