PDA

View Full Version : Gaseous Form



Xanatheus
10-30-2010, 03:01 PM
Gaseous form has some tricky problems associated with it. I notice it is dismissible in the stat block of the spell. But according to the rules about dismissing a spell: You must be within range of the spellís effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spellís verbal component.

The rules for Gaseous Form state: the gaseous form creature canít attack or cast spells with verbal, somatic, material, or focus components while in gaseuos form.

Does this mean a recipient of this spell other than the caster can't dismiss it? What about the caster if he is the recipient?

bloodtide
10-31-2010, 10:32 PM
Well....

First of all, nowhere in the Gaseous Form spell does it say the effected creature can not speak. Saying 'can't cast spells with verbal components' does not equal no speech at all. So by RAW gaseous form creatures can speak.

Second, the Dismissal paragraph does have the caveat 'which are usually'. Note that 'usually' does not apply to All The Time. This leaves the door open for a couple 'unusual' spell dismissals.

Third, in any case, the recipient of Any spell can not Dismiss the spell. Only the caster can do that.

DMMike
11-01-2010, 10:23 PM
Another question about Gaseous Form: shouldn't the recipient become immune to weapons/incorporeal? DR 10/magic is pretty much worthless by the time you can cast the spell anyway, right? Or am I assuming way too much about CR 6 or 7 creatures?