PDA

View Full Version : Spontaneous casting and metamagic



RMajere
10-03-2010, 12:07 PM
I was talking with my PC's awhile back and we had a discussion about the differences between a full round casting time and a 1 round casting time.

Basically it was decided, due to sorcerers and metamagic feats, that a 1 round casting time is equal to a one round action. Which means you can't do anything other than cast the spell during that turn, but it also takes effect during that turn.

Whereas a full round casting time would mean you spend the entire round casting, and the spell takes effect just before your initiative count in the next round.

I don't have the books in front of me, but I was wondering if anyone else had thought on this. I'm sure that people have debated this ad nauseum, but I am just looking for confirmation that this is the way it is, or whether I'm completely misreading the brief passages that pertain to this issue.

Many thanks!

rabkala
10-03-2010, 03:18 PM
A 1 round spell is a full round action. It comes into effect just before the begining of your turn in the round after you began casting. Concentration must continue throughout the casting.

Most spells require 1 standard action to cast. You can cast the spell before or after a move action.

Spellcasters who do not prepare spells must take more time casting a spell because they decide on the spot to add the metamagic feat. Therefore a spell with a casting time of one standard action becomes a spell with one full round action casting time.

Of course, you could take the sudden version of the metamagic feat which does not take extra time. The rules are very clear on the issue, you are correct sir! :cool:

---------- Post added at 03:18 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:55 PM ----------


Basically it was decided, due to sorcerers and metamagic feats, that a 1 round casting time is equal to a one round action. Which means you can't do anything other than cast the spell during that turn, but it also takes effect during that turn.


Oops I missed that part, you weren't completely correct. My post was correct. It would be next round that it takes effect. I looked it up to make sure, page 88 in the 3.5 players handbook.:caked:

RMajere
10-04-2010, 01:08 PM
Well now that I have the books in front of me, I can more fully address the issue.

On page 143 of the 3.5 PHB and also from the SRD:


Cast a Spell
A spell that takes 1 round to cast is a full-round action. It comes into effect just before the beginning of your turn in the round after you began casting the spell. You then act normally after the spell is completed.
A spell that takes 1 minute to cast comes into effect just before your turn 1 minute later (and for each of those 10 rounds, you are casting a spell as a full-round action). These actions must be consecutive and uninterrupted, or the spell automatically fails.
When you begin a spell that takes 1 round or longer to cast, you must continue the invocations, gestures, and concentration from one round to just before your turn in the next round (at least). If you lose concentration after starting the spell and before it is complete, you lose the spell.
You only provoke attacks of opportunity when you begin casting a spell, even though you might continue casting for at least one full round. While casting a spell, you donít threaten any squares around you.
This action is otherwise identical to the cast a spell action described under Standard Actions.
Casting a Metamagic Spell: Sorcerers and bards must take more time to cast a metamagic spell (one enhanced by a metamagic feat) than a regular spell. If a spellís normal casting time is 1 standard action, casting a metamagic version of the spell is a full-round action for a sorcerer or bard. Note that this isnít the same as a spell with a 1-round casting time ó the spell takes effect in the same round that you begin casting, and you arenít required to continue the invocations, gestures, and concentration until your next turn. For spells with a longer casting time, it takes an extra full-round action to cast the metamagic spell.
Clerics must take more time to spontaneously cast a metamagic version of a cure or inflict spell. Spontaneously casting a metamagic version of a spell with a casting time of 1 standard action is a full-round action, and spells with longer casting times take an extra full-round action to cast.
Emphasis mine. The bolded passage is what caused confusion. This passage makes it sound as if the metamagic-ed spell still takes affect the round it's cast, as long as the unmodified version has a casting time of 1 standard action or less. Anything with a longer casting time would take more full round actions to cast.

See my confusion?

DMMike
10-04-2010, 01:16 PM
Yup. Because "the spell" should really read "the sorceror's metamagic spell."

Hmm. Maybe like in certain other important books, that ambiguity is there for you to exploit for your own nefarious purposes?

rabkala
10-04-2010, 06:40 PM
Good call, RMajere! I guessI shold have read further. :confused: Good thing I don't have any sorc's in my campaign. :D

RMajere
10-05-2010, 12:38 PM
No worries rabkala. :thumb: The only reason it became an issue in my game is that the setting makes a big issue about the differences between sorcerous magic and wizardly magic.