View Full Version : Flurry of blows and grapple question

07-29-2010, 04:58 PM
Hi, I was wondering if it would be possible for a monk to use Flurry of blows after a successful grapple is made? For instance, if in round 1 my monk grapples a target, would he be able to use his flurry of blows on that target in round 2 of combat? Thanks in advance to any help ya'll can give me.

07-29-2010, 08:59 PM
No. Unless you release the grapple as a free action. Your required to spend a standard action to maintain a grapple. From the Pathfinder SRD :

As a standard action, you can attempt to grapple a foe, hindering his combat options. If you do not have Improved Grapple, grab, or a similar ability, attempting to grapple a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. Humanoid creatures without two free hands attempting to grapple a foe take a 4 penalty on the combat maneuver roll. If successful, both you and the target gain the grappled condition. If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails). Although both creatures have the grappled condition, you can, as the creature that initiated the grapple, release the grapple as a free action, removing the condition from both you and the target. If you do not release the grapple, you must continue to make a check each round, as a standard action, to maintain the hold. If your target does not break the grapple, you get a +5 circumstance bonus on grapple checks made against the same target in subsequent rounds. Once you are grappling an opponent, a successful check allows you to continue grappling the foe, and also allows you to perform one of the following actions (as part of the standard action spent to maintain the grapple).

Move: You can move both yourself and your target up to half your speed. At the end of your movement, you can place your target in any square adjacent to you. If you attempt to place your foe in a hazardous location, such as in a wall of fire or over a pit, the target receives a free attempt to break your grapple with a +4 bonus.

Damage: You can inflict damage to your target equal to your unarmed strike, a natural attack, or an attack made with armor spikes or a light or one-handed weapon. This damage can be either lethal or nonlethal.

Pin: You can give your opponent the pinned condition (see Conditions). Despite pinning your opponent, you still only have the grappled condition, but you lose your Dexterity bonus to AC.

07-30-2010, 05:21 PM
Thanks for clearing that up. It doesn't seem as if there is much advantage to performing a grapple as a monk unless perhaps you try and pin the target and hit it with a stunning fist.

08-02-2010, 08:17 AM
Grapple has a much higher chance of taking out a spellcaster than stunning fist does. I am playing an 8th level monk in one game and have all but given up on stunning fist. Most things we come up against can overcome a DC 16 fortitude save, and I have to hit and deal damage first anyway (so anything with DR is pretty much immune to everything I can do). Grappling is far easier, and it allows you to move the target instead of dealing damage (there is that pesky DR again). So, move the foe into the middle of the party and release, or just hold the spellcaster while the fighter ganks stuff.

08-04-2010, 02:56 AM
As long as the monk isn't the one trying to maintain the grapple, there is no reason why he can't flurry.

Source (http://paizo.com/paizo/messageboards/paizoPublishing/pathfinder/pathfinderRPG/rules/archives/grappleYupAgain&page=2#80)
The RAW do allow the grappled to make a full attack action, assuming they can do so with only one hand. Since flurry does not require two hands to perform, a monk could flurry.

Grappling is not always the best idea. Grappling a monk is one such example. I think folks need to remember that the grappled condition is not as severe as it once was. You are no longer draped all over the target. It is more like you got a hold on them, typically an arm (hence the restriction). The pinned condition is more of your greco-roman wrestling hold.

Despite common opinion, in Pathfinder, it is rarely mechanically advantageous for a monk to start a grapple. That said, if someone else is stupid enough to grapple the monk, the monk is more then happy to open up a can of whoop@$$.