PDA

View Full Version : Deflecting for Allies?



A Flannel Shirt
07-17-2010, 10:13 PM
How would you rule this situation:

O = Square
J = Jedi
E = Enemy
A = Ally

OEO
OOO
OOO
OJO
OAO

E shoots at A

Can the Jedi Deflect that shot?

Inquisitor Tremayne
07-20-2010, 09:14 PM
Yes but the Jedi must spend a Force Point in order to do so. It is under the Deflect talent. As long as the ally is adjacent to a Jedi with Deflect and the Jedi has FPs to spend.

I think the ally might have cover as well, not sure on that.

A Flannel Shirt
07-21-2010, 04:01 PM
I couldn't find that in the core book. Is it in the errata?

EDIT: Yup, there it is

p. 41 Deflect Talent
Before the last sentence of the first paragraph, add the following
sentence: "You may spend a Force Point to use this talent to negate
an attack against an adjacent character."
Replace the second paragraph with the following:
"You can use this talent to deflect some of the barrage of shots fired
from a ranged weapon set on autofire, or the Force lightning Force
power. If you succeed on the Use the Force check, you take half
damage if the attack hits and no damage if the attack misses.

Inquisitor Tremayne
07-22-2010, 11:17 AM
It is in my core book! For real get the second printing of the core book before they are gone, it includes all errata! SO good!

yukonhorror
07-22-2010, 12:49 PM
if the cover rules are anything like 4e D&D, than yes, the ally would have cover.

Dytrrnikl
07-24-2010, 08:47 PM
I believe in the core book it states that the ally would have cover, but not full cover...granting a +5 bonus to reflex.

Inquisitor Tremayne
08-07-2010, 11:51 AM
Yep! Very first line of the cover section; "Creatures and terrain features can provide cover against attacks."

lockend
01-23-2011, 02:16 PM
Ya you would be considered Soft cover, Hey if you take Harms way then you can cover your ally without spending a force point!