PDA

View Full Version : Character Backgrounds

kirksmithicus
04-05-2010, 11:12 PM
It seems to me that the concept of Character Backgrounds as it presently used in the game is totally abused, or open to abuse. Players pick a background based solely on whatever bonus they think will help their character out. Then ignore their characters background entirely during game play. While I realize that it is the DM's place to work the players background into the game, it seems that a great many, of my players at least, just don't care. In one case the player seemed genuinely annoyed that I did so, as he is mostly a slayer type who cares little for anything else than killing things in the game. As a result, I was thinking of trying to create a more "balanced" system, something with bonuses as well as penalties. I know other systems use such schemes, but I've never used them before, so any input would be great.

wizarddog
04-06-2010, 05:58 AM
I have always been a little wary of background benefits myself. In 3.5, they usually required you to spend a feat. You might just want to not use them at all. I don't in my game, but the players created their characters before the backgrounds were placed in the books.

Alternately, you can just have the players be able to have a set of skills available to them and leave it at that or allow them to choose whatever benefit they want, provided they have a reason for it. Players should not be given incentives to roleplay, in my opinion.

yukonhorror
04-06-2010, 08:51 AM
I think if penalties fit the game go for it. But I outlaw certain backgrounds, and I usually have them tell me their background (fluff not numbers) then pick a mechanical background that fits the story. Me on the other hand, usually pick a background then weave the story around it.

Farcaster
04-06-2010, 12:45 PM