View Full Version : How do Paladin mounts work now?
03-21-2010, 01:18 PM
I was just looking over the Divine Bond class feature, and was a little bit confused. Unlike in 3.5, there is no implication that the Paladin's mount resides on an upper plane until called, but rather is always on the material plane. Yet, the Paladin can call his mount to his side magically. Is there a limit on how long the mount can remain? Any clarification would be helpful.
03-25-2010, 01:49 PM
You're correct; this was one of the changes made to the paladin class. Your mount is treated as a loyal steed in the description. However, you are using the same rules for an animal companion that are in the druid class description in the core rule book. So, the mount isn't a summoned creature but a full-time animal companion.
As for the ability to summon, you are just using the ability to bring it to you directly. They are just using the rules for a summon monster spell as a guide.
As you go up in level, the mount's statistics will change not just from the animal companion rules but in additional abilities of the paladin class progression (example -- adding the celestial template at level 11). Given the new paladin abilities in Pathfinder, having the divine bond for the mount is still pretty nice.
I hope that helps.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.