PDA

View Full Version : Seeking D&D 3.5 Forgotten Realms Online Campaign

osakamatt
01-31-2010, 02:36 AM
Greetings! I'm a mature gamer in my 30's that has been playing D&D for over 15 years. My regular local group broke up recently and I'm looking to join or start a new 3.5 campaign online. Any setting is fine but I prefer Forgotten Realms. It would be nice to get a weekly or bi-weekly campaign going.

I'm not really a DM so I'm looking for someone who wants to run a new campaign as well as players to join.

goteamcleric
01-31-2010, 06:57 PM
I am also a DnD veteran of 10 years. I am a student in Santa Cruz, California. I would be interested in playing an online 3.5 campaign, since there are no sit-down games located in this area. I am a first time online player, but I have quite a bit of game experience.

osakamatt
01-31-2010, 07:41 PM
Thanks for the reply. I am also new to playing D&D online but have a lot of experience playing 3.5. Are you a DM or just a player?

trialbyfireent
01-31-2010, 07:58 PM
Forgotten Realms is the best fantasy setting ever.

I've been DMing both in person and online for a while, and here's my take on playing D&D online:

1) It's much easier to DM, thanks to the fact that everything is in text. You can reread details, save chat logs, and reference numbers on a whim, without page turning.

2) It goes much slower than face to face D&D depending on the DM, but there are ways to remedy this. Using recurring text slang or shorthand makes typing out actions much quicker.

3) In my opinion, it makes the story more real, because it leaves everything to the imagination. You aren't listening to people talk, you are reading a story, watching situations unfold.

4) The built in dice roller uses a great script that can calculate huge rolls instantly, so you don't have to fumble around with dice as much.