View Full Version : Throwing a splash weapon

01-19-2010, 11:06 PM
So here is a question for you all: Until just now I thought throwing a splash weapon was like throwing any other thrown weapon, a standard action. However I was recently refreshing myself on combat rules and on the AoO chart it lists "Prepare to throw a splash weapon," but I cannot find a ruling for this anywhere else. I've searched my book and the SRDs. Can anyone help?

01-20-2010, 12:46 AM
This is a 3e hold back that was never defined, never made any sense, and contradicted the rules as written. No one really knows what it means, although there are a lot of vague guesses, most related to preparing flasks of oil - treat splash weapons just like drawing and throwing any other weapons.

01-20-2010, 09:26 AM
That's what I thought. I was just hoping someone had addressed it.

02-02-2010, 12:55 AM
Rule my groups agree on is it takes a move action to prepare the 'cocktail' and a standard action to lob it. My kobolds love to ready alc fire and catch adventurers flat-footed with touch attack. Take that high dex!