PDA

View Full Version : HELP for Ship to Ship fighting

Vhan the great
01-11-2010, 01:24 AM
OK well i am running a D&D 4E Forgotten Realms Pirate campaign. but i need some help on how to draw up a battle play for the ship to ship fighting. the ships have bilistas and catapults on them. we tried to figure out how to do the fighting but kinda failed.

P.S i am a newbie DM for D&D so i am still really new at this the help would be be much appreciated

cplmac
01-11-2010, 04:51 PM
Welcome to the DM's seat. I wish you well on your campaign. Since I am not familiar with the 4E rules & mechanics, I will let those that have used them to guide you through this.

wizarddog
01-11-2010, 07:53 PM
Use the rules in Adventurers Vault in using Vehicles. It contains the mechanics piloting a ship.

For the catapults and the ballista you need to assign damage potential. A Ballista is like a big crossbow so the player just uses his to hit to the target and inflicts a damage you consider feasible (like 2d6). The Crossbows then need a standard action to reload (the advantage of having it 2 manned).

The catapult is very inaccurate but does the most damage. It should garner anywhere from a -10 or 20 to hit vs Reflex. Guaranteed to hit a ship but less likely to hit a humanoid target. The damage should be pretty high area depending on level (3d10). The reload should take 2 standard actions, again shortened by having more men at the weapon.

Players can also use their own powers to target the ship or other targets. They can use movement powers with athletics or acrobatics to board ships.

Vhan the great
01-11-2010, 11:17 PM
well thank you all very much and thanks for the help. this should improve my game a lot. and thanks you for the welcoming to the DM seat Cplmac thank you lol and thanks wizarddog for the advice

kirksmithicus
01-12-2010, 01:46 AM
Just tossing out some thoughts, no specific mechanics.