PDA

View Full Version : How do you defeat Invisiblity?



harmor
01-10-2010, 01:29 PM
When you have an enemy go invisible, what are some ways, magical and mundane, to defeat it?

mrken
01-10-2010, 01:56 PM
My favorites are sight, sound and smell.

Just because the character is invisible, does not meant they don't affect the area they stand or walk through. Same goes for smells and sounds.

And then there are the magical means, like detect invisibility or magic.

Or perhaps you prefer the area of effect spells like wind or fireballs. Yeah, fireballs are pretty good at a lot of things. lol

Sascha
01-10-2010, 04:24 PM
Also Glitterdust.

harmor
01-10-2010, 04:34 PM
Detect Magic can see though Invisibility?

outrider
01-10-2010, 06:29 PM
non magicial, flour or soot tossed into the area where you think the invisible baddy is at or toss it on the floor. they will leave footprints.

harmor
01-11-2010, 02:37 AM
What about Water from a Waterskin, a Bag of Marbles, and Caltrops?

If I cast Create Water (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells---final/create-water), how many gallons would it take to fill 1 square? 4 squares? 9 squares?

My GM wouldn't allow Detect Magic (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells---final/detect-magic) (a level 0 spell) to see through Invisibility.

How about a summoned creature like from the spell Summon Monster (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells---final/summon-monster-i), Summon Nature's Ally (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells---final/summon-nature-s-ally-i), Summon Swarm (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells---final/summon-swarm) that has the Scent (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/rules-for-monsters/universal-monster-rules#TOC-Scent-Ex-) extraordinary ability?


Here's my research so far:

Spells (summary):

Create Water (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells---final/create-water) (0th Cleric/Druid, 1st Paladin):

Summon a Creature (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells---final/summon-monster-i) with Scent ability like:
[list]
Dire Rat (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-lists-and-details/-r/rat/dire-rat/summoned-creature-dire-rat)
Dog (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-lists-and-details/-d/dog/dog/summoned-creature-dog)
Pony (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-lists-and-details/-h/horse/pony/summoned-creature-pony-horse)
Viper (snake) (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-lists-and-details/-f/familiar/viper/summoned-creature-viper)
etc...

or creatures with Blindscense:
Dolphin (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-lists-and-details/-d/dolphin/dolphin/summoned-creature-dolphin)
Dire bat (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-lists-and-details/b/bat/dire-bat/summoned-creature-dire-bat)
etc...

or creatures with Tremorscense:
Elemental (small) (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-lists-and-details/-e/elemental/earth)
Giant spider (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-lists-and-details/-s/spider/giant-spider/summoned-creature-giant-spider)
etc...

See Invisibility (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells---final/see-invisibility) (2nd Sor/Wiz):

Glitterdust (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells---final/glitterdust) (2nd Bard/Sor/Wiz):

Invisibility Purge (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells---final/invisibility-purge) (3rd Cleric):

Dispel Magic (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells---final/dispel-magic) (3rd Druid/Cleric/Sor/Wiz/Bard)

My DM allows me to use Arcane Sight (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells---final/arcane-sight) (3rd Sor/Wiz) against Invisibility (2nd level), but not against Greater Invisibility (4th level).

True Seeing (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells---final/true-seeing) (cleric 5, druid 7, sorcerer/wizard 6)

Non-magical:

Flour or soot tossed into the area
Water
Marbles
Perception check to hear them: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/skills/perception

cplmac
01-11-2010, 04:41 PM
Could be one of those times when a 10 foot pole can come in handy. Swing that thing around and see if it hits something that isn't there.