PDA

View Full Version : Sculpting minatures?

Stakie
12-30-2009, 02:44 AM
So I just started collecting little miniatures for the campaigns I play in. I seem to adore them. Especially all the little elementals I can make,paint, or just plain buy!

I was wondering if anyone else sculpted their own little fellows. I am a beginner. Learning how to sculpt and paint all at the same time. It's a nice hobby to say the least!

Sidenote:Woo first post!

Nevek
12-30-2009, 02:52 AM
Thats an awesome idea, what do you use?

Stakie
12-30-2009, 03:23 AM
I am going to start with polymer, the oven bake kind. I use to sculpt little figures before.. but now it's for a purpose!

michaelsbagley
12-30-2009, 02:16 PM
If you scroll about half to two thirds of the way down this web page... http://www.megaminis.com/

Mega Minis have miniature blanks (they call them "sculpting dollies") you can use to start as a base for more advanced miniature sculpting... Never tried it myself (I am definitely not a sculptor), but it is another tool you may find handy.

Stakie
12-30-2009, 02:24 PM
Oh those are neat! I am not sure how I would use them though since they are metal and all. I will keep them in mind though. They are very interesting at the least!

mrken
12-30-2009, 03:38 PM
These dollies can be bent even though they are metal, you just have to be careful.

Stakie
12-30-2009, 11:39 PM
Oh! So they would be better then a paperclip, huh?

mrken
12-31-2009, 12:57 PM
lol Yeah, I think so. They are proportioned correctly and thus help in keeping your sculpt believable. It is so easy to get even one part proportioned wrong and then the whole thing looks wrong and figuring it out and then fixing it is such a pain.

Besides, the paper clip has nothing to assist the material from sliding around. In larger sculpts I would make my armature from a wire of a fairly large gauge, then wrap that with a smaller gauge. Helps the wax, or in my case clay, hold onto the wire.