View Full Version : Rules: Is Spring Attack a Full-Round Action?
12-19-2009, 04:09 AM
Is Spring Attack a Full-Round Action?
12-19-2009, 11:22 AM
In a way yes. You have to move at least 10 feet and then you get to make a single melee attack. That is your entire action. You can then move (optionally) again after your single attack not to exceed your total movement including the amount of distance traveled to get into melee.
It's not a full round action in and of itself but it takes up the same amount of time since a move action + standard action = full round action for purposes of time expended.
does that help ?
12-20-2009, 01:39 PM
So if you movement is 30 feet you can move
and move up to an additional 20 feet afterward and then your action is done.
The person you attacked doesn't get AoO from you from ALL your movement either before or after.
Am I understanding this correctly?
12-20-2009, 03:33 PM
its pretty clear in the text. you move up to your speed and make a single melee attack without provoking an aoo. You must move at least 10 feet before the attack and cant exceed your movement.
12-20-2009, 03:41 PM
Thanks guys. For some reason I thought you could move 30 feet, then move 10 feet, attack and then continue moving another 20 feet. I was wrong.
09-19-2010, 10:38 AM
Sorry Outrider but you are wrong it move, attack and finish move off
See text below copied from the core book
"You can deftly move up to a foe, strike, and withdraw before he can react.
Prerequisites: Dex 13, Dodge, Mobility, base attack bonus +4.
Benefit: You can move up to your speed and make a single melee attack without provoking any attacks of opportunity from the target of your attack. You can move both before and after the attack, but you must move at least 10 feet before the attack and the total distance that you move cannot be greater than your speed. You cannot use this ability to attack a foe that is adjacent to you at the start of your turn.
Normal: You cannot move before and after an attack."
09-27-2010, 08:13 AM
Actually outrider's post is correct. It states that you have to move a minimum of 10 feet and not more than your speed. If you move the total of your speed before the attack, then you would not be able to move after the attack.
09-28-2010, 03:01 PM
Actually cplmac outriders post is misleading as he never stated that you can move after the single melee attack if you have the movement left, which my post states if you read it
09-29-2010, 04:47 PM
Hmm, funny thing is that I had my wife read outriders post. She doesn't play D&D, but when I asked her to tell me what she thinks that says you can do, she presumed that if you could move more than 10 feet for your speed that you would get to move the remainder after your attack. Also, when I read outriders statement of "You must move at least 10 feet before the attack and can't exceed your movement." I understood that to mean that you could move both before and after the attack. Plus, it seemed that outrider was reinforcing Harmor's post right before his, which shows being able to move both before and after the attack. It looks as though outrider was more emphasizing that it is a single melee attack and not multiple attacks.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2 Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.