View Full Version : Tumbling Modifiers???

12-02-2009, 12:35 AM
Ok from the PRD:

In addition, you can move through a threatened square without provoking an attack of opportunity from an enemy by using Acrobatics. When moving in this way, you move at half speed. You can move at full speed by increasing the DC of the check by 10. You cannot use Acrobatics to move past foes if your speed is reduced due to carrying a medium or heavy load or wearing medium or heavy armor. If an ability allows you to move at full speed under such conditions, you can use Acrobatics to move past foes. You can use Acrobatics in this way while prone, but doing so requires a full-round action to move 5 feet, and the DC is increased by 5.

1) I don't see anywhere anywhere about multiple opponents? So if you have 3 enemies all around you the DC doesn't go up, you just make one roll and whichever you make or exceed don't get an AoO, right?


2) If you attempt to move though someone's square and fail, do you stop moving? Do you go prone? I don't see anything anywhere. It looks like you can keep moving and just take the AoOs. There's a feat called Stand Still (Combat) (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/stand-still-combat---final) that the enemy must have to stop you, right???


3) When you fail when does the enemy attack you? Can they wait til its most advantageous for them or the first square you provoke???


4) As read it appears that you move at 1/2 speed for the WHOLE move action when you declare you're tumbling.

12-02-2009, 08:46 AM
Tumbling past foes in Pathfinder requires you make the against an Oppent's Combat Maneuver Defense. Right on the chart in the book it states The DC increasdes by 2 for each additional opponent avoided in 1 round.

1) For three opponents the DC will go up to 4. The first opponent at Normall DC, second at +2 the thiurd at +4 etc.

2) If you fail, the opponent gets an attack of Oppotunity on you for exiting a threatened square. If they don't have any Attacks of Oppotunity left or cannot threaten with them (no weapon, flatfooted or other condition), they can't take one. After the attack, you can continue to move less your incapacitated or tripped or whatever by the attack of oppotunity.

3)Only on the 1st time you provoke. It's an immedaite reaction. You don't have to take it. If they provoke again in the same round you can take it at that particular time (provide you have oppotunity attacks left)

4)You half speed only through the threatened squares you want to tumble into to avoid an attack of oppotunity. So depending on the angle of your approach or the reach of the threatening foe(2) you may tumble in the threatened squares and move normally in the non threatened squares; moving at full and 1/2 speed through your move.

12-02-2009, 09:20 PM
Thanks wizarddog for clearing that up. How about this:

If you attempt to tumble though an opponent's square they occupy and fail, what happens?

What happens if the square you left is occupied by one of your companions or another enemy?

What penalties are there for you and the creature you share a space with?

12-04-2009, 03:21 PM
This, in the book, is unclear.

Note that in Pathfinder, it states you only move past foes if you are not carrying a medium or heavy load or wearing medium or heavy armor less you have the ability to move at full speed at such conditions.

The wording in pathfinder is lacking on what happens if you fail your acrobatics roll to move through a foes square. As written, it actually does not stop you from moving past, only allows the attack of opportunity. That may be its intention.

If that is the case, ending up in an unoccupied space is a non issue as you would need to to have had a ending square to attempt the move in the first place

Page 193 reference however implies there is an attempt.

In that case, there are no rules that cover the example you give. A player can only occupy a space of another if that one is helpless.

Some GM's apply squeezing rules to allow creatures to share the same square of allies, but as written in Pathfinder, that is not what it was intended to do.

So if you make the case there is a consequence, the failed acrobatics check places you in an adjacent unoccupied square.

If their is no square available then the GM could by adjusting the Rules 1) apply squeezing rules, 2) have the character fall prone and becomes helpless 3) rule the maneuver can never be attempted because their is no place for the PC to go if they fail their roll.

The issue probably has been discussed on the Pathfinder Forum.

09-19-2010, 10:48 AM
yes wizarddog the above issue has been discussed on the pathfinder forum, but still no offical ruling the best one i have seen is to stop the move through the enemy square at the last empty square