PDA

View Full Version : Rules: Going negative while underwater



harmor
11-14-2009, 05:24 AM
If you are holding your breath and say have a Constitution of 12, but then go negative due to damage, what happens exactly?

TheYeti1775
11-14-2009, 12:10 PM
Ya drown unless saved.

cplmac
11-17-2009, 05:56 PM
I agree with the Yeti. Unless another member of your party intervenes and saves you, basically you are spending eternity with Davey Jones Locker.

WhiteTiger
11-18-2009, 04:10 PM
Either that or the character sinks too far down and you hit crush depth.
even if the rules don't explicitly cover that. :bathbaby::smow:

TheYeti1775
11-23-2009, 01:24 PM
Either that or the character sinks too far down and you hit crush depth.
even if the rules don't explicitly cover that. :bathbaby::smow:
Actually I think it was either DMG or Stormwrack that covered the crush depth rules.
We had to look them up for a game we were doing that required us to attempt entrance into the underwater city. :D

harmor
11-24-2009, 09:00 PM
Well specifically if you're holding your breath and go unconscious, but then get healed do you loose your held breath?

wizarddog
11-25-2009, 12:07 AM
The rules don't say.
However, it depends if the DM runs a gritty campaign or a heroic campaign.

In the gritty campaign, realism is thrust upon the PC's; going unconscious means they no longer are holding their breath (requiring conscious effort), and they drown.

In the heroic campaign, the player still can maintain his/her heroic efforts until every last hitpoint is gone.

Both have their merits.

But in my experience, going unconscious while in the water is never a good thing ;)