PDA

View Full Version : Tell me About Your Favorite Setting

trechriron
10-07-2009, 09:58 PM
So, I am curious.

What is your fav fantasy setting?

Why?

Also, how did this "why" come out in Actual Play? (as in, what about your favorite setting comes out in actually playing the game).

Give me your opinions P&PG peeps!!!

XeroDrift
10-08-2009, 09:22 PM
Well this doesnt technically answer your question, because in my favorite setting high technology is just as important as high fantasy. That being said, the Palladium Megaverse, Rifts in particular, covers everything you could want in a game and then some.

tesral
10-08-2009, 10:04 PM
Thindacarulle -- The only I have been creating for the last 33 years.

It doesn't have anything "special-special about it, a lot of familiar fantasy tropes tossed well and seasoned with a good dressing, but it is my world and I love it.

Hoitash
10-14-2009, 05:44 PM
My homemade setting is pretty good, but my DM has given Forgotten Realms a few tweaks, and I like that, too.

But my world has steam powered tanks and musket wielding dwarves. And ironclads.

I'm not much for a society that doesn't advance technology.

TheYeti1775
10-16-2009, 10:44 AM
My favorite setting has changed through the years.
Think my first favorite was Forgotten Realms. That lasted until I started venturing into 3rd party works of 3E.
Valus by Different Worlds and Dawnforge by Fantasy Flight Games pretty locked in for favorite settings.

MortonStromgal
10-16-2009, 12:54 PM
Nothing beats Middle Earth IMHO, there is plenty to do outside of the ring quest. I also like mythic earth settings alot :D

Skunkape
10-19-2009, 10:08 AM
Homebrew world that I've been working on since the 80s. See a pattern here, I have the same thing for my sci-fi game!

Anyway, while I like the Forgotten Realms, which is the setting I would probably use if I didn't have my own, there are portions of the realms that I just don't care for.