PDA

View Full Version : D&D 4th Edition Review from an old gamer perspective

HowwwwL
09-13-2009, 12:29 PM
As promised, I am doing a review with my impressions on 4th edition. Going into this version, I was unbiased, and was actually thinking of doing a Savage Worlds campaign in it's stead, especially after hearing the bad reviews.

But I talked with someone in my LGS that said it wasn't as bad as all the bad press it was getting, and he suggested I try it out. I've played so many other games int he past, I figured it was worth a try. I could always just ditch it and start something else. So I did.

A brief history about me: I've been playing RPGs since 1979. Not just D&D, but many many many others over the years. It seemed to be like a geek badge of honor or bragging rights to have played the most different RPGs when going through my teens and early 20s. I am now almost 40 years old, and have been playing RPGs since I was 9. My focus on RPGs is ROLEPLAYING, and combat has always been incidental. I always find the combat in all RPGs to be lacking in tactical quality to most miniature wargames, and when I want to play a tactical combat game I fall back on Warhammer 40k and Fantasy, or Confrontation/Ragnarok. Which I find does a much better job for this. ;)

I have been playing D&D 4th edition for a few weeks with my group, though I've been planning my campaign for 6-8 weeks. Each player has roughly 12+ years playing D&D from 2nd edition to 3.5. I've been playing D&D since 1979 and started with Advanced 1st edition D&D.

I am going write a review of my impressions and referencing some of my group's impressions of this new edition. I will be honest in that I came into this edition with an open mind despite all the bad press from other gamers (which almost made me pass it by), and I am comparing it to mainly other versions of D&D, though I might reference others I've played.