PDA

View Full Version : What is your familiar and why did you choose it?

Stabbity
08-31-2009, 10:52 AM
I some what new to the PnP DnD. I recently started playing in a new campain playing a wizard and I'm eyeing some improved familiar's. I thought it might be interesting to see what others have and why.

On my wizard Im looking at a pseudodragon, homunculus, or a mephit (most likely cold since we are in a cold area).

I have a duskblade in another campain that has a raven. His family is named Ravenmane, so the raven seemed fitting.

So what is your's and why?

squidyak
08-31-2009, 03:41 PM
Let's see. I've had a lion (3rd party feats), a pseudodragon (where we established that dragons meow), a raven (which I accidentally blasted with a cone of cold), a toad (damned 2e random table), and a cat so fat it couldn't move without the aid of its magical floating pillow. He was awesome.

WhiteTiger
09-01-2009, 03:44 PM
Brushtail Fennec: These small, nocturnal sand-colored foxes are known for their distinctively bushy tails, curiousity and agility. You gain a +3 bonus on search checks (perception checks - Pathfinder). Brushtail fennecs have the same stats as a dog but with a strength of 6.

Arch Lich Thoth-Amon
09-01-2009, 07:46 PM
I love evil wizard types and even though everyone loves the pseudodragon, i always used a spider.

michael
09-01-2009, 10:35 PM
I only ever played one mage that had a familiar and it was a pseudodragon. I have my munchkin characters every now and then...

Bearfoot_Adam
09-01-2009, 10:39 PM
Pseudodragon for my halfling wizard. the character never talked. Just used the Pseudodragon to speak through telepathy

mnemenoi
09-03-2009, 08:58 PM
I am running a Dark Sun game and have an elven defiler with a Cilops as his familiar. It was started at a fairly small size (2 foot) but will grow as he advances.

Skunkape
09-04-2009, 08:15 AM